Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS problem

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by doodleyear2000, Sep 1, 2005.

  1. doodleyear2000

    doodleyear2000 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I kept receiving this mail from my server.
    I believed, i configured something wrong for my DNS, however, i can use my domain fine.

    Any idea what this error is about ? & how to fix it.
    (i've changed the all the related info in bold characters)


    thank you


    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    The hostname (server.hub.com) resolves to . It should resolve to 12.236.95.156. Please be sure to correct /etc/hosts as well as the 'A' entry in zone file for the domain.

    Some are all of these problems can be caused by
    /etc/resolv.conf being setup incorrectly. Please check this file if you
    believe everything else is correct.


    You may be able to
    automaticly correct this problem by using the ' Add an A entry for your
    hostname ' under ' Dns Functions ' in your Web Host Manager
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    open /etc/hosts and add an entry
    ---------
    12.236.95.156 server.hub.com
    ------------------------------------------
    also at the domain dns of hub.com, enter an A record for server.hub.com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. doodleyear2000

    doodleyear2000 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thank's for the reply

    inside my /etc/hosts, i have
    12.236.95.156 server.hub.com server 156.95.236.12.reverse.layeredtech.com 156
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    192.168.1.119 localhost.localdomain


    Where should i enter A record for server.hub.com ?
    I did that at my WHM


    Thank's


     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    from whm edit DNS zone, edit the dns for hub.com and add.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. kotr

    kotr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    did this work for you?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice