The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS problem

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by doodleyear2000, Sep 1, 2005.

  1. doodleyear2000

    doodleyear2000 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I kept receiving this mail from my server.
    I believed, i configured something wrong for my DNS, however, i can use my domain fine.

    Any idea what this error is about ? & how to fix it.
    (i've changed the all the related info in bold characters)


    thank you


    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    The hostname (server.hub.com) resolves to . It should resolve to 12.236.95.156. Please be sure to correct /etc/hosts as well as the 'A' entry in zone file for the domain.

    Some are all of these problems can be caused by
    /etc/resolv.conf being setup incorrectly. Please check this file if you
    believe everything else is correct.


    You may be able to
    automaticly correct this problem by using the ' Add an A entry for your
    hostname ' under ' Dns Functions ' in your Web Host Manager
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    open /etc/hosts and add an entry
    ---------
    12.236.95.156 server.hub.com
    ------------------------------------------
    also at the domain dns of hub.com, enter an A record for server.hub.com
     
  3. doodleyear2000

    doodleyear2000 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank's for the reply

    inside my /etc/hosts, i have
    12.236.95.156 server.hub.com server 156.95.236.12.reverse.layeredtech.com 156
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    192.168.1.119 localhost.localdomain


    Where should i enter A record for server.hub.com ?
    I did that at my WHM


    Thank's


     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    from whm edit DNS zone, edit the dns for hub.com and add.
     
  5. kotr

    kotr Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    did this work for you?
     
Loading...

Share This Page