The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS problems regarding anonymous nameservers (WHM/Cpanel).. HELP!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ramystyle, May 5, 2004.

  1. ramystyle

    ramystyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Montreal
    Hello,

    I have a hosting company and I wanted to add 2 anonymous nameserver for my clients to use. Everything seemed working fine until some of my clients reported that they could not view their webpages unless they type it this way: http://ipadress/~usename
    I suspected something wrong in my DNS records.. But I have no clue what...
    Can someone let me know how I go about adding 2 nameservers that are anonymous, besides my already established 2 nameservers?
    My 2 anonymous nameservers are ns1/ns2.diphost.us
    I think something might be missing in those dns records.. If someone could help, i would really appreciate. I'm not very advanced in that DNS stuff

    Thanks

    Ramy
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The nameservers will respond on any of the ips of your server, so really they are all "anonymous". The only real way to know if they are not is to reverse dns the nameserver ip. It does sound like a dns issue but not really enough info to go on.
     
  3. ramystyle

    ramystyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Montreal
  4. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Found NS record: NS1.diphost.us[69.28.236.35], was resolved to IP address by A.GTLD.BIZ
    Found NS record: NS2.diphost.us[69.28.236.36], was resolved to IP address by A.GTLD.BIZ

    Looks like it is working. The only thing that is weird is that the nameserver records for the domain ns1.sellwebhost.com. If you go into the edit dns zone you can change them.
     
  5. ramystyle

    ramystyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Montreal
    So in WHM for diphost.us, should I remove:

    diphost.us. 14400 NS ns1.sellwebhost.com.
    diphost.us. 14400 NS ns2.sellwebhost.com.

    and keep only

    diphost.us. 14400 NS ns1.diphost.us.
    diphost.us. 14400 NS ns2.diphost.us.

    ?


    Do you think that will solve my problem ?
     
  6. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well it resolves ok for me, not sure why it does not work for some other people but that is something that you should do anyways. How long ago did you change the nameservers in the registar?
     
  7. ramystyle

    ramystyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Montreal
    I made the change from the registrar about 4 months ago..

    The thing is.. When i use http://www.checkdns.net/quickcheck.aspx?domain=diphost.us&detailed=1
    to check if everything is ok, I get the following errors:
    1) Master DNS defined by SOA (ns1.sellwebhost.com) was not found among NS records.

    2) NS list mismatch: registration authority reports that domain is hosted on the following servers: 'NS1.diphost.us; NS2.diphost.us', but DNS server NS1.diphost.us reports domain to be hosted on 'ns1.diuphost.us; ns1.sellwebhost.com; ns2.diphost.us; ns2.sellwebhost.com'. Please make sure that you configure the same DNS servers in registrar database and on your DNS

    And after reading many posts on the web, some people have had the same problems... Some clients from Europe or Middle-East are unable to view some websites because of DNS issues :(
     
  8. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    'NS1.diphost.us; NS2.diphost.us'

    Since the registar says that, that is what you need to have in the DNS zone information. If you change it to that in the dns zone information it should start working.
     
Loading...

Share This Page