The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS problems when cloning AWS instance

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Caue Motta, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. Caue Motta

    Caue Motta Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, I hope I am writing this thread in the correct section, because as of now I haven't been able to pinpoint my issue, but it definitely looks like a DNS one.

    I am originally a front-end dev, so my knowledge in the area is limited, but currently I'm it for SYS admin stuff as well, so I am hoping to get some help here.

    In summary I have cloned an EC2 instance in AWS in order to make a development version of our website. I have also registered a new domain with Route53 and pointed it to an elastic IP that is linked to my new instance. Now I assume this bit is all correct, since I have done it before and also, if I try to access mydomain.com:2083 I can access cpanel (same for port 2087 and WHM).

    The problem appears when I try to access mydomain.com . I get presented with cpanel's general error page: SORRY! If you are the owner of this website, please contact your hosting provider.

    I think this is probably because: There has been a server misconfiguration.

    My domain's /var/named/mydomain.com.db looks like this:
    Code:
    
    [SIZE=3][B]; cPanel first:11.51.9999.165 (update_time):1447908267 Cpanel::ZoneFile::VERSION:1.3 hostname:ip-100-0-0-59.ap-southeast-1.compute.internal latest:11.53.9999.69[/B]
    [B]; Zone file for mydomain.com[/B]
    [B]$TTL 14400[/B]
    [B]mydomain.com.      86400   IN      SOA     ns1.mydomain.com.  caue.mydomain.com.     ([/B]
    [B]                                                2015111306 ;Serial Number[/B]
    [B]                                                86400 ;refresh[/B]
    [B]                                                7200 ;retry[/B]
    [B]                                                3600000 ;expire[/B]
    [B]                                                86400 ;minimum[/B]
    [B]        )[/B]
    [B]mydomain.com.      86400   IN      NS      ns1.mydomain.com.[/B]
    [B]mydomain.com.      86400   IN      NS      ns2.mydomain.com.[/B]
    [B]mydomain.com.      14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B]
    [B]mydomain.com.      14400   IN      MX      0       mydomain.com.[/B]
    [B]mail    14400   IN      CNAME   mydomain.com.[/B]
    [B]www     14400   IN      CNAME   mydomain.com.[/B]
    [B]ftp     14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B]
    [B]default._domainkey      14400   IN      TXT     "v=DKIM1; k=rsa; p=MIIBIjANBgkqhkiG9w0BAQEFAAOCAQ8AMIIBCgKCAQEA7dXslEV9N62XUa9opiVwbczPUWTIWwnWSciCtv99mycXrKjc8poJJY5BtGwg6ENzSZIrSnbn3imVnIBYWheFc8OCWoS5oYQg+IGnOyVlKw7vaqY+ppZgJdoOHbX8ksrvcEUO29hH8c3bZdkBqfJHcxBaW/8JOXlmdAljLlVjnPPuDt1yEP6/w25dUqG5w/X3I" twU4JwKH4dbSOpcBRV0qVX/8mBY6l3TL3Wv4DqMFUWFCHtnFCFj+ZXnMvzDjdVUg8g0ms0xAa/96S+kLek4v/790W2lNNLXXNTNZGCFTbMGAM94Jt+TQWc6Tok7VH8uSJj+Ha38u9EqEscbLzS+yQIDAQAB\;[/B]
    [B]cpanel  14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B]
    [B]webdisk 14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B]
    [B]cpcalendars     14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B]
    [B]cpcontacts      14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B]
    [B]whm     14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B]
    [B]webmail 14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B]
    [B]ns1     14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B]
    [B]ns2     14400   IN      A       52.74.141.159[/B][/SIZE]
    
    What I have done so far:
    I have removed the previous domain from WHM.
    I have changed WHM initial configuration to include a new hostname and nameservers.
    I have changed my account on WHM to match the new IP and domain.

    I am not sure if I am providing all the information required for someone to help me, but please ask me if you need more.

    Thank you very much for taking the effort to help me out!
     
    #1 Caue Motta, Nov 19, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  2. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If this is a new domain on cpanel, did you remove the default index.html file ?
     
  3. Caue Motta

    Caue Motta Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Weel, I have cloned an entire instance that was already running cpanel with a domain installed. In fact, that was the whole point, since the new instance will be an exact copy of the first one... so basically I just wanted to get a successful installation of cpanel and change its IP and domain...
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can use a website such as IntoDNS to verify the name server and name server IP addresses are properly configured and the domain name resolves to the correct IP address.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Caue Motta

    Caue Motta Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, Michael!

    I have tried that...
    The only error I get is for MX records (but I am not using mail for this domain) and this one for WWW A record:

    WWW A Record ERROR: I could not get any A records for www.mydomain.com!

    (I only do a cache request, if you recently added a WWW A record, it might not show up here.)

    But the funny thing is that I do have A records set for the domain... =/
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page