The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dns problems

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by allenhui, Apr 10, 2004.

  1. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have setup the cpanel with fedora, but all the domain can't be reach.There is some error message like the following,


    Stopping named: rndc: connection to remote host closed
    This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of
    the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect,
    or the key is invalid.


    How can i slove the dns problem?Can anyone help me/
     
  2. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  3. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Still can't slove the problems.
     
  4. elleryjh

    elleryjh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    1. service named restart
    2. tail /var/log/messages

    What do you see there?
     
  5. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    As i see, all the things are working all right~
     
  6. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
  7. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  8. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
  9. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried to edit the /etc/named.conf but it didn't help.

    What i need to do for the fix for this is to comment out the 'ROOTDIR=' line in /etc/sysconfig/named. I don't understand what i need to do with the file,and which file to edit.Can anyone help me?
     
  10. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  11. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  12. allenhui

    allenhui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can any one help me?
     
  13. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You almost must have not done sometrhing right. I setup rndc on two boxes and it was a snap.

    Have you considered the possibility the machine is broken or too difficult for you?
     
  14. cierrahost

    cierrahost Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    lol at to difficult or broken box. how bout this ...those fixes dont work with fedora. I have fedora and im running into the same problem on both my boxes. Ive been searching and searching for a fix but havnt found one yet.
     
  15. Maff

    Maff Registered
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Windsor, UK
    Just a quick one to say that I have seen this error a few times on Fedora box's now, and doing the following seems to fix it:

    vi /etc/sysconfig/named

    comment out the line
    ROOTDIR=/var/named/chroot

    i.e.

    # ROOTDIR=/var/named/chroot

    restart BIND via WHM and it works fine.

    Hope this helps!
     
Loading...

Share This Page