The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Problems

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by stephenbrown, Jun 30, 2006.

  1. stephenbrown

    stephenbrown Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    It just may be my mind going crazy, but after a week of changing my ns to a brand new server, still after a week they keep changing back and forth to the old server. Now I have checked my ns at the parent server (domain registry) and they have the new IP, but when I check on DNS Report, it’s a different story...

    Now i have been starting to get complaints saying sometimes they can see their website and sometimes they cannot. I have checked my zone record and they have the new IP's in.

    It’s properly something really stupid, but any ideas?

    Many Thanks
     
    #1 stephenbrown, Jun 30, 2006
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2006
  2. iquest

    iquest Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    pico -w /etc/named.conf

    # then add the following lines (replace the "xx.xxx.xx.xxx" with your real IPs):

    acl "serverips" {
    xx.xxx.xx.xxx;
    xx.xxx.xx.xxx;
    xx.xxx.xx.xxx;
    xx.xxx.xx.xxx;
    xx.xxx.xx.xxx;
    127.0.0.1;
    };


    options {
    directory "/var/named";
    version "not currently available";
    allow-recursion { serverips; };
    allow-notify { serverips; };
    allow-transfer { serverips; };

    # existing configurations goes here...

    };

    # now save it restart:

    CTRL + X
    Y
    ENTER

    service named restart
     
  3. Metro2

    Metro2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi iquest,

    I'm curious about something - on the line that says:

    acl "serverips" {

    On my server it says:

    acl "trusted" {

    Is there a difference?

    EDIT - nevermind, kind of answered my own question. In each place where you have "serverips" in your .conf file, mine has "trusted", so I'm assuming almost any word could be used, or at least that there is more than one word that you could use there to identify with.
     
    #3 Metro2, Jul 4, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2006
  4. hamper

    hamper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    might also check, I've done this but each update, I keep having to do this because something keeps overwriting my changes.

    and using the resursive: no; while closing it doesn't allow for server/apache updates.

    best of luck.
     
  5. stephenbrown

    stephenbrown Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Heya,

    I have fixed this now; it was extremely stupid until I finally thought what it was at 6:30 AM

    My first server which I transferred from was setup for me, and what the company must of done, was they made a new zone record for each name server. Now when I checked them, the IP's were still my old ones! So I deleted the 2 zone records in question and then put in my main domain zone record:

    Code:
    ns1    14400    A    NEW MAIN IP
    ns2    14400    A    NEW SECOND IP
    , and saved and its all sorted!

    Also thanks to iquest for fixing the open DNS server bit.

    Told you it must of been stupid!
     
    #5 stephenbrown, Jul 5, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page