The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Propagation Issue with Name Servers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Cowboy59, Nov 27, 2014.

  1. Cowboy59

    Cowboy59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have configured a web server and 2 name servers and clustered the dns. The clustered machines all indicate with green checks that they are communicating. The web server is set to synchronize to the 2 name servers and the 2 name servers point back to the web server and are set to standalone.

    web server dns path diagram shows
    ws
    ---> ns1
    ---> ns2

    name server 1 dns path diagram shows
    ns1

    name server 2 dns path diagram shows
    ns2

    I can dig from the web server and get a successful resolve on both name server ip addresses. When I dig from the ip of either name server nothing resolves.

    I have gone to shell and forced a dns synchronize (./dnscluster syncall) and the command comes back successful (syncing to all machines in cluster ...... Done) and yet still the A records do not get properly (or at least do not appear to be) propagated to the name servers.

    Can someone assist me in resolving what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance :confused:
     
  2. Cowboy59

    Cowboy59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    DNS named.conf file not being updated on name servers - Please Help

    I have configured a web server and 2 name servers and clustered the dns. The clustered machines all indicate with green checks that they are communicating. The web server is set to synchronize to the 2 name servers and the 2 name servers point back to the web server and are set to standalone.

    web server dns path diagram shows
    ws
    ---> ns1
    ---> ns2

    name server 1 dns path diagram shows
    ns1

    name server 2 dns path diagram shows
    ns2

    Note - on the web server the Nameserver selection is set to disabled and on the name servers the Namesever selection is set to BIND.

    When I update the web server with A records, the zone file is being pushed from the web server to the name servers (synchronization appears to happen), but the name servers are not updating the named.conf automatically, so the web addresses requested are not being resolved because the DNS servers are not looking at the zone files that were copied over by the web server.

    I realize it can be done manually, but this should not be necessary.

    Can someone assist me in resolving what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance
     
    #2 Cowboy59, Nov 29, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014
  3. Cowboy59

    Cowboy59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    DNS named.conf file not being updated on name servers - Please Help

    When I update the web server with A records, the zone file is being pushed from the web server to the name servers (synchronization appears to happen), but the name servers are not updating the named.conf automatically, so the web addresses requested are not being resolved because the DNS servers are not looking at the zone files that were copied over by the web server.

    I realize it can be done manually, but this should not be necessary.

    I have configured a web server and 2 name servers and clustered the dns. The clustered machines all indicate with green checks that they are communicating. The web server is set to synchronize to the 2 name servers and the 2 name servers point back to the web server and are set to standalone.

    web server dns path diagram shows
    ws
    ---> ns1
    ---> ns2

    name server 1 dns path diagram shows
    ns1

    name server 2 dns path diagram shows
    ns2

    Note - on the web server the Nameserver selection is set to disabled and on the name servers the Namesever selection is set to BIND.

    Can someone assist me in resolving what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks in advance
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    3 threads merged here. There should be no need to keep reposting the same thread reworded a bit.

    Please feel free to open a ticket directly to cPanel Technical Support directly from within your WHM. Click the life preserver icon, top right of any page in WHM, choose Contact cPanel.
     
  5. Cowboy59

    Cowboy59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you.

    I apologize for the threading. I was trying to post a new thread (new post) since I had isolated the problem and for some reason it kept adding to my original post even though I was selecting new post. Let me know what I was doing wrong that kept adding to the same thread.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,472
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Those new threads were merged here by me, as mentioned.
     
Loading...

Share This Page