The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Record(s) - Convert Default IP in Address Bar to .TLD

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by USA_Webmaster, Dec 10, 2015.

  1. USA_Webmaster

    USA_Webmaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What Zone Record(s) do I need to convert:

    104.238.133.xxx:2083
    104.238.133.xxx:2087

    into:

    avatar.example.com:2083
    avatar.example.com:2087

    and / or:

    avatar.example.com/whmc
    avatar.example.com/cpanel

    - Removed -

    --- NOTES ---
    • Here is my current zone record:

    - Removed -

    • I just installed SSL, so when I visit: Example Domain everything looks good.
     
    #1 USA_Webmaster, Dec 10, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 11, 2015
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. USA_Webmaster

    USA_Webmaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please excuse my ignorance, I will try again. I want to convert my address bar IP into a TLD. When I log into WHMC or cPanel the address bar looks :
    2015-12-10_15-51-20.png

    Here is a screenshot of
    2015-12-11_10-42-18.png

    cpanel-step2.png
    I thought, for some reason, Step #2 of initial cPanel Server Setup when I setup my Hostname (the thing above primary / seocndary resolver...not nameservers) to usa.example.com that my address bar would display that hostname, not the IP address of the server and a broken SSL. I just installed the SSL too, so I'm hoping that the broken red lock will be fixed once I get convert the IP into a TLD.

    Ahh you know what, I found the upload a file button. If only I could find "edit"...
     
    #3 USA_Webmaster, Dec 11, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 11, 2015
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. USA_Webmaster

    USA_Webmaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just don't understand the documentation, and I dislike wasting other people's time. I thought I could hop into the forums, get a response, acquire results and hopefully solve this same issue for others. Thanks for investing time in my silly queries.

    example.com = primary cPanel domain

    104.238.133.196:2087 = WHM login (insecure connection)
    104.238.133.196:2083 = cPanel login (insecure connection)
    104.238.133.196 = root IP of cPanel / WHM (does't redirect or anything and is broken? I'll worry about that later...)

    I wish to convert the IP in the Address / URL bar - Removed - to the primary hostname of Step #2 of the server. I set the server hostname as "XYZ.example.com". I purchased an SSL and installed it successful no problem and the green bar works for my primary domain but when I log into the WHM / cPanel I get inseucre connection and IP instead of TLD (top level domain).
     
  6. USA_Webmaster

    USA_Webmaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes. The primary domain resolves perfectly. It's just that the WHM / cPanel IP Addresses don't covert into the primary domain.
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try opening your domain in your browser like this: example.com/whm does that work for you?
    Does example.com have a dedicated IP address?

    WHM »Server Configuration »Tweak Settings, Redirection tab, how do you have this setup?

    Please don't post your actual domain name or details, we don't need them.
     
    USA_Webmaster likes this.
  8. USA_Webmaster

    USA_Webmaster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes it works!! I suspect it worked all along, I was just assuming the IP would redirect to the TLD. The green padlock also appears and that's good news! Check out the attached file for a screenshot of redirection tab. I setup "force HTTPS" on my primary cPanel VIA .htaccess because this option, it wasn't clear if it would be server-wide or just specific domain. I get the feeling, it's server wide and that isn't good because if someone buys hosting from WHMCS and wants to host their different domain, won't it break it and display the insecure error each time?

    *facepalm*

    Yea, sorry about that domain thing, I noticed that you started to edit all my replies and swapped em out...I didn't mean for you waste your time fixing my errors.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    N/P, for privacy reasons its always best to use example.com instead of actual details.

    Even if another domain on your server gets its own SSL, the cPanel Powered Server it's on is your, hostname.example.com
     
Loading...

Share This Page