The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dns related question

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by tetsou, Sep 29, 2004.

  1. tetsou

    tetsou Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,

    I currently have 1 static ip adress and a domain name that is hosted at another company.
    Im wondering if there is any way that i can host domain with 1 static ip adress?

    Regards, Tets
     
  2. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    from what i understand; u have one static ip address for your domain hosted by another company. Now what was your next question ?
     
  3. tetsou

    tetsou Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ahh no, :)
    our company has a server with cpanel installed and 1 ip, i was wondering if its possible to point domains to "park" them on our server somehow.
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes; you can do that.. from what i understand; you just need to park other domains via your domain control panel itself. Point the nameservers of the parked domain to that of your current domain.

    but to say; if you have a whole server with you; use the WHM and create new webspace for the domains you want.
     
  5. tetsou

    tetsou Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    there we go, i have 2 ip adresses now, so i guess there is some other solution to that? :)

    Tets
     
  6. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    you can add the new domain you want; assigning it the other ip address on the server. hence one ip address will take you to one domain and the other to the other domain
     
Loading...

Share This Page