The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Roles in whm cluster configuration

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by penguinbliss, May 8, 2013.

  1. penguinbliss

    penguinbliss Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,


    Could someone please help me understand the dns roles defined in cluster configuration in WHM:

    synchronize
    write only
    standalone


    The description given in configuration page is pretty confusing. The synchronize and write only seems to perform the same action and what is the need of dns role standalone ??
     
  2. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You could have googled for an explanations...

    Stantalone is it won't send any updates,
    Write-only only writes
    Synchronize makes sure records are same.

    As i use multiple web servers and one/two DNS only servers i make web servers Write-only with no Reverse trust.
    If you used web server to web server synchronize option would be better.
     
  3. penguinbliss

    penguinbliss Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    if Stantalone wont send any updates then why we have this option in whm ? :P is there any purpose to enable standalaone option ? Also, do you have any doc which can describe this?

    Thank you in advance.
     
  4. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Guide to DNS Cluster Configuration

    It's just easier to see server roles. If you don't set reversal trust, it defaults to Standalone.
    Sometimes you want server to stop synchronizing, instead disabling you can set it to standalone.
    That's the purpose.

    Also:


    "Because you are clustered to the nameservers, you will see all the zones on the nameservers. It isn't syncing back in that instance, it's that you see the zones where you are syncing to for DNS. There is currently no way for "ownership" of a server to exist in the clustering setup we provide. By ownership, I'm speaking of one server owning zones and no other servers clustered to the nameservers holding those zones being able to see the zones. At this time, the functionality you desire doesn't exist. You'd have to uncluster the machine and just run the DNS on it if you want it to be unable to see other zones in the cluster. "

    DNSonly is incomplete, that is if you add one DNSonly server in couple Webservers clusters, if you go Edit DNS Zone or another window you will see all zones from all servers, and resellers can see all zones too. There is currently feature requests to fix this.
     
Loading...

Share This Page