The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS server

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by borgdrone7, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. borgdrone7

    borgdrone7 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I just installed CPanel and I want my Cpanel to be also my dns server NS1 and NS2. however I read in CPanel installation instructions that I should not put in my host name the name of any domain name I will be hosting (for. eg. www.vpswebserver.com). So I put hostname lappacentos and domain name: localdomain.

    However I dont know now how will I enter domain name servers for my purchased domains I have more of them: www.lappasoft.com www.vpswebserver.com, etc. I know I can not put ns1.lappacentos.localdomain because it does not exist on internet. Do I need to register dedicated domain name for me to be able to have DNS server on my server (like www.lappadnsserver.com)?

    Also I went to: Assigned Nameserver Ips option in CPanel
    and there I can find this:
    Ip Nameserver
    66.90.81.132 NS2.MELSHORT.COM
    However NS2.MELSHORT.COM is not my domain, and when I try to delete it I get this message:
    Removing Nameserver Ip 66.90.81.132
    Sorry, the nameserver ip 66.90.81.132 cannot be removing since it is still registered with an ICANN register.

    So I have one static public IP and this is what I want:
    1. That my DNS Server is on my server, exactly: ns1.vpswebserver.com, ns2.vpswebserver.com
    2. To add myself as reseller and to add all of my current sites under that reseller including www.vpswebserver.com.
    3. To point all current web sites to new DNS Server (ns1.vpswebserver.com), and that all new sites I add through CPanel are automatically added to my local DNS server and work as soon as I point domain to my DNS Server.
    4. To be able to add more resellers/clients which will work in the same way.

    Most confusing thing is this, which I found on cpanel install guide:

    "You should never set your hostname to a name that is already used (www, ftp, mail, etc) or to the name of an account on the server (www.domain.com). This means that your hostname should never be a domain name and especially not the name of your domain!!"

    I dont undestand why cant I have www.vpswebserver.com to be my DNS server and also host that site. I probably get all this wrong, please explain.
    Also I am concerned with this ICANN problem because I found solution (in Tweaks options) to disable that restriction, but I went to ICANN and found that my IP is registered for someone elses DNS server, what does this mean and will it mix with my own DNS servers since it uses same IP?


    Please help.
     
  2. wiszmaster

    wiszmaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    bump to the top.
     
    #2 wiszmaster, Jun 17, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2008
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried changing the hostname to a FQDN such as lappacentos.example.com where example.com is a domain you own? If not, please do so.
     
  4. borgdrone7

    borgdrone7 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Resolved

    Thanks for response, I resolved the problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page