The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Settings

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by joomla, Jun 24, 2015.

  1. joomla

    joomla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello to all :)

    I have 1 question and I do please for any answer as I am time limited by boss.

    We ordered cPanel dedicated server from OVH.ie, and we got 1 dedicated IP, by using their interface I ordered secound dedicated IP in order to create Name Servers and Chil Name Servers.

    But we got for second order from them Failover IP.

    My question is, can we create ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com.

    And to enter the same input in Child name servers configuration, like this:

    ns1.domain.com 1-th IP
    ns2.domain.com 2-nd IP (Failover IP we got from OVH).

    Will that configuration will work when setting BIND server, A record in WHM? Is that correct config, or we must change it in some way?

    I do please, for any kind of help. :)
     
  2. rishivispute

    rishivispute Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    pune
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, you can use the Failover IP for your second name servers and it will not face any problem in whm.
     
  3. joomla

    joomla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Many, many thank you @rishivispute :))

    I will run WHM today, and I will post results.

    Best wishes!
     
    #3 joomla, Jun 24, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2015
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, you can use it as a name server IP address as long as the failover IP address is added as an IP address to your cPanel server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page