dns sync shouldn't be required after account transfer

spaceman

Well-Known Member
Mar 25, 2002
509
5
318
G'day.

I've just done a single account transfer from one server to another where those two servers are in a dns cluster set to (automatically?) syncronize. No obvious errors during the transfer process, new (shared) IP given to account on new server.

But a dig of the domain using the primary name server showed the A record of the site still pointing to the old (shared) IP address.

So I used the following on the transferred domain:

WHM > Syncronize DNS Records > Synchronize one zone to this server only

et voila! The same dig as before now shows the new IP address.

So might question is - why did I have to 'manually' sync the zone? Surely if the servers are set to sync in a DNS cluster, then the transfer process should have taken care of this??