The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS synchronization

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by alecx, Aug 12, 2003.

  1. alecx

    alecx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    CPanel synchronize DNS entries well.
    Two CPanels servers synchronize as shown below.
    +--------+
    | Master |
    +--------+
    / \ |
    | |
    | \ /
    +--------+
    | Slave |
    +--------+
    But It's not really Good.
    1) They eat Ip on each server.
    2) When CPU or Memory Usage is high bind may fall down.

    I need to create as shown below.

    +--------+ +--------+ +--------+
    | Master1| | Master2| ...|MasterN|
    +--------+ +--------+ +--------+
    | | |
    | | |
    \ / \ / \ /
    +-----------------------------+
    | Slave (only name server )|
    +-----------------------------+
    Slave server is only name server.
    No other processes are running on it.

    I think something about rndc.
    Should I write own scripts?
    What should I configure?
    Can anybody advise me how to solve this problem?
     
    #1 alecx, Aug 12, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2003
  2. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    BIND really isn't that resource intensive unless you have 250,000 zone files. Perhaps you should consider tweaking out your current installs rather then simply throwing more hardware at the issue.

    If you want to setup a centralized nameserver, all you have to do is tell each cPanel installation that you would like x IP to be the master nameserver & create a trust relationship.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. alecx

    alecx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can create trusted relationship only for two servers.
    I need a lot of servers in a relationship or a lot of masters and one slave (with bind only).

    If i am not mistaken Cpanel doesn't allow it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. alecx

    alecx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Cpanel allows me as I shown in attach file.
    If Cpanel allows a lot of servers to be in relationship how can configure it?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     

    Attached Files:

    • aaa.jpg
      File size:
      3.8 KB
      Views:
      49
  5. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You have multiple web servers, you only need one master nameserver & multiple nameserver slaves. The master will notify the slaves to update.

    You can create a trust relationship from each web server to the master nameserver. No trust relationship required to axfr between master & slaves.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page