The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Zone Already Exists

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by smsjaipur, May 10, 2011.

  1. smsjaipur

    smsjaipur Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello All,
    Recently I have deleted a domain from whm, checking the box (Keep DNS Zone FOr This Domain).
    Now I want to add it again. When I am trying to create a new account for this domain, an erroe message displays-
    "DNS Zone already exists for this domain, Delete DNS Zone entries from all servers"

    Please suggest what to do and where to do.
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Are you attempting to preserve the previous DNS Zone and use it with the new account, or do you simply want a new DNS Zone to be created?

    If you would like a new DNS Zone to be created for the domain name; when using the "Create a New Account" option, under "DNS Settings", select:

    "Overwrite any existing DNS zones for the account"

    This will allow a new DNS Zone to be created for the domain name when the account is created.

    Thank you.
     
  3. zontrakulla

    zontrakulla Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Main >> DNS Functions >> Delete a DNS Zone

    Deleting the dns zone for that account will work too
     
  4. smsjaipur

    smsjaipur Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am not getting this option in my cpanel.
    In DNS settings option there are only one check box for
    "Use the nameservers specified at the Domain's Registrar (ignore locally specified nameservers)"

    I don't found that option mentioned above. And of course, I want to create a new DNS zone for this domain.
    Thanks
     
    #4 smsjaipur, May 12, 2011
    Last edited: May 12, 2011
  5. smsjaipur

    smsjaipur Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In this option, my wanted domain does not display in the list as I have already deleted that domain.
    What to do?
    Thanks
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Do you have root access to the server, or only reseller access?

    If you have root access to the server, please try running the following command via SSH:

    Code:
    /scripts/killdns domain.com
    Replace "domain.com" with the domain name you are attempting to remove the DNS Zone for.

    If you have reseller access, you will need to contact your hosting provider to have them remove the DNS Zone for you.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page