Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS zone auto added by WHM even when using remote DNS

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Gino Viroli, May 24, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Gino Viroli

    Gino Viroli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Hello,

    when I create a new account on WHM for somedomain.com it also automatically adds a full DNS zone for somedomain.com on local server.

    Is this DNS zone necessary if I use a remote DNS for somedomain.com?


    Let's say I use an external DNS to manage somedomain.com and I also use a remote Mail Exchanger and remote mail accounts, and I take care to set the remote DNS for somedomain.com to point to the account server IP.
    In such case do I still need the DNS zone that WHM auto creates?
    Or I can simply delete the zone from "DNS Functions > Delete a DNS Zone"?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Gino Viroli,

    The DNS zones in the /var/named/ directory are required, even when the local name server is disabled or isn't utilized. The existence of the zones is needed for certain features (e.g. Transfer Tool, SPF or DKIM record creation).

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Gino Viroli

    Gino Viroli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    The SPF is set at DNS level, hence if I use an external DNS, I will have to add a record for the SPF on the external DNS, why would I need the DNS zone for the SPF record on the WHM account too?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Gino Viroli,

    You don't technically need the DNS zone on the cPanel server when the DNS is handled by a remote server. However, certain features in cPanel & WHM rely on the existence of the zone and will report errors if the zone does not exist locally. Thus, while removing a zone won't cause any issues with the DNS itself, it will cause issues with cPanel & WHM features. I encourage you to open a feature request if you'd like to see an option to disable zone creation completely:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Gino Viroli

    Gino Viroli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Could you make some examples of these features that won't work?
    Because it seems odd to me that some features rely on a DNS that is not the one to use for the domain, because the DNS of the domain is on another server.

    Thanks, but I don't need such a feature, there is already a way to delete the entire DNS zone from "Home »DNS Functions » Delete a DNS Zone"
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    cPanel >> Authentication
    is one such feature. If the zone doesn't exist, an error like this will appear when attempting to create the DKIM record:

    Code:
    DKIM not enabled (Cpanel::DnsUtils::Install::Processor:564: There is no zone file on this system that can contain “default._domainkey.123.tld.”.
    Cpanel::DnsUtils::Install::Processor:564: There is no zone file on this system that can contain “default._domainkey.123.tld.”.).
    While I do understand you don't need the zone locally, and that creating DNS/SPF records through cPanel will have no effect on the actual DNS records, features like this are sometimes used by customers to get an idea of the specific record they should create at the remote DNS host. Additionally, it ensures the records are configured properly should someone decide to switch over to using the cPanel server to host the DNS.

    The feature would be to allow cPanel & WHM to automatically detect when a zone doesn't exist and to disable features that rely on the deleted zone accordingly.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Gino Viroli likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice