The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS zone files for nameservers and hostname

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by dxer, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    Hi to all

    I had an OS reload and now after all this restoration I have some questions about setting up nameservers and hostname.
    I think I remember that both nameservers and hostname had separate DNS zone file. Some people told me that this could be within DNS zone file of the main account (domain from which nameservers comes).
    Now I am confused, so can someone please send me a snap of his DNS zone files where nameservers and hostname are.

    Many thanks
     
  2. brendanrtg

    brendanrtg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'll try to get as simple as it can be so as not to confuse myself and you. :D

    Say IF:

    You have a domain named abc.com and that domain is on your server (where the NS are also pointed to at the registrar), you CAN either:

    1. Setup seperate zone files for the hostname and NS entries (ie: ns1 and ns2).
    2. Setup all zones to go under the main domain, ie: abc.com

    You are basically looking at setting the following:

    A entry for NS1.ABC.COM & NS2.ABC.COM
    A entry for ABC.COM
    NS entries for ABC.COM

    They as spoken can be seperate entries or consolidated into one.

    HOWEVER, the REGISTRAR must have the entries set to resolve your domain from ns1.abc.com oe whatever you choose to call it.

    Which means the DNS must be set to point to:

    ns1.abc.com and ns2.abc.com

    In order for whatever zones you wanna setup to work.
     
    #2 brendanrtg, Feb 28, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2007
  3. dxer

    dxer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Europe
    Could you or someone send me snap/pic of this DNS zone files of yours as this is not perfectly clear to me. I don't need to see your true data, but only construction of this specific DNS zone file(s)
    I need to see the construction of these zone files if separate and one domain DNS zone file if these are within this file.

    many thanks
     
  4. brendanrtg

    brendanrtg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You normally do not have to worry about the zones being in one entiry or is seperate unless you are intending to edit it manually.

    When you create the domain, the basic default zones would already have been created for the domain, in this case, ABC.COM

    If you are using again ABC.COM as the NS, then just let WHM add it for you.

    Once you setup Nameserver IPs under WHM and BAsic WHM setup, WHM has options to allow you to add their A entries adn if zones are already existing for ABC.COM, then WHM will add the NS entries into that domain, which in this case is ABC.COM
     
Loading...

Share This Page