The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Zone Missing Nameservers and Server

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by cotswoldphoto, Oct 20, 2015.

  1. cotswoldphoto

    cotswoldphoto Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not sure what I have done wrong, but I have 3 dedicated servers. All the same spec. After setup and first login to WHM and filling in the welcome bits, and adding an account/domain to each ...

    If I go to:

    Home » DNS Functions » Edit DNS Zone

    On 2 servers I see the domain (for example mysite.com), ns1.mysite.com, ns2.mysite.com and server1.mysite.com

    One 1 server I see only mysite.com. What did I do wrong? Where are the missing ns1 and ns2 and server1

    All domains work and resolve fine.

    Trevor
     
  2. danrussell

    danrussell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi :),

    You might have not created A records for Nameservers and Server hostname.
    Go to "Home »DNS Functions »Add an A Entry for Your Hostname" to set DNS zone or A record for server hostname
    Go to "Home »Server Configuration »Basic cPanel & WHM Setup" >> scroll at bottom >> Click on Assign IP Address in front of ns1 and ns2. And then click on "Add an A entry for this nameserver"
     
  3. cotswoldphoto

    cotswoldphoto Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had already done those :-(
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Those entries are likely within the existing DNS zone for the domain name they are associated with, which is acceptable. Use the "Edit a DNS Zone" option to verify if that's the case.

    Thank you.
     
  5. cotswoldphoto

    cotswoldphoto Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep, they are. I just wondered why on one server they are there inside the main domain, and as their own on another. I was trying to trace down a problem and have now resolved it, after a week of trying things.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's likely the DNS zone existed on one server before the entries were added, whereas the DNS zone for the domain name was created after the hostname and name server records on the other servers.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page