The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Zone Problem...

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by PuNkEr, Nov 7, 2004.

  1. PuNkEr

    PuNkEr Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I'm adding A entries for NameServers, Main Domain or even adding a new domain/account to the server, I am always told that a DNS Zone for xxxx.com doesn't exist and it says WHM has created one. However when going back to Edit DNS Zones, there are none shown. Also if I try to manually add one with the tool Add DNS Zone, again nothing appears in edit DNS Zones.

    I read up that DNS Zones are stored in /var/named/ so I went there via SSH and all i see is localhost.zone. I think theres a problem here :/

    Can anyone help me, really desperate to get this up and running.


    Thanks In Advance, Appreciate your Help.

    :: Versions Running ::

    WHM 9.9.8 cPanel 9.9.8-C82
     
    #1 PuNkEr, Nov 7, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2004
  2. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  3. PuNkEr

    PuNkEr Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey mate thanks for the response.

    Well i edited my original post now to include the version. However, I was running RELEASE before so I upgraded to CURRENT (82) as i read in the thread u suggested. However there was no difference. I could still not see my zones :/

    Anway I am gonna try a fresh install of cPanel/WHM again on my server and see if it works. Anyone got any more suggestions though ?


    Thanks In Advance.
     
  4. deepak_k_rana

    deepak_k_rana Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same error with my Server as..!!!

    -------------------------------------------------------

    Zone xx.com does not exist, a new zone for ns2.xx.com will be created.

    Created DNS entry for ns2.xx.com
    Add Complete

    ------------------------------------------------------------


    Nothing is happening if i add Zones manually. ( Cpanel Ver "WHM 9.9.7 cPanel 9.9.8-S6")

    Then i reinstalled Cpanel as well. But problem is still same.

    Hope If someone could help. And will resolve both of us problem.
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Did you open a ticket yet? It sounds like a local bind config problem.
     
  6. deepak_k_rana

    deepak_k_rana Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello Admin,

    I did open a Ticket. But after one reply of Perl upgradation, I didn't get much response.

    But, I just had my OS installation and cpanel installation. which has resloved the problem.

    Many Many Thanks for your support.

    Best Regards
    Deepak K Rana
     
  7. PuNkEr

    PuNkEr Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cpanel nick thanks for the response.

    Well I have currently got cPanel and WHM re-installed so I will try again to add zones etc.. and if it fails i will open a ticket. Thanks for everyone's help though!
     
  8. faqall

    faqall Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have had server setup 3 times and still this problem exists, tried updating to edge and current. these dont fix :(
     
  9. greenba

    greenba Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bosnia and Herzegowina
    Same with me. I have reinstalled 2 times. and I still cannot see DNS zone..

    Can anyone help?
     
  10. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    I am having this same problem on WHM 9.9.9 cPanel 9.9.9-R70, RedHat enterprise 3.

    My named process is running and starts with no errors, i have tried /scripts/fixndc and /scripts/fixnamed. When adding a DNS zone, the zone is not actually added to /etc/named.conf and the zonefile is not created in /var/named. I can run rndc fine and it talks with named.

    I created ticket 85689 for this problem.
     
    #10 sloop, Jan 6, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2005
  11. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    north carolina
    running upcp fixed the problem for me. i noticed that it updated a lot of perl modules. i had installed a few perl modules from the command line awhile ago, i wonder if that was related.
     
Loading...

Share This Page