Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS Zone Problem...

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by PuNkEr, Nov 7, 2004.

  1. PuNkEr

    PuNkEr Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    When I'm adding A entries for NameServers, Main Domain or even adding a new domain/account to the server, I am always told that a DNS Zone for xxxx.com doesn't exist and it says WHM has created one. However when going back to Edit DNS Zones, there are none shown. Also if I try to manually add one with the tool Add DNS Zone, again nothing appears in edit DNS Zones.

    I read up that DNS Zones are stored in /var/named/ so I went there via SSH and all i see is localhost.zone. I think theres a problem here :/

    Can anyone help me, really desperate to get this up and running.


    Thanks In Advance, Appreciate your Help.

    :: Versions Running ::

    WHM 9.9.8 cPanel 9.9.8-C82
     
    #1 PuNkEr, Nov 7, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2004
  2. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
  3. PuNkEr

    PuNkEr Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    hey mate thanks for the response.

    Well i edited my original post now to include the version. However, I was running RELEASE before so I upgraded to CURRENT (82) as i read in the thread u suggested. However there was no difference. I could still not see my zones :/

    Anway I am gonna try a fresh install of cPanel/WHM again on my server and see if it works. Anyone got any more suggestions though ?


    Thanks In Advance.
     
  4. deepak_k_rana

    deepak_k_rana Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Same error with my Server as..!!!

    -------------------------------------------------------

    Zone xx.com does not exist, a new zone for ns2.xx.com will be created.

    Created DNS entry for ns2.xx.com
    Add Complete

    ------------------------------------------------------------


    Nothing is happening if i add Zones manually. ( Cpanel Ver "WHM 9.9.7 cPanel 9.9.8-S6")

    Then i reinstalled Cpanel as well. But problem is still same.

    Hope If someone could help. And will resolve both of us problem.
     
  5. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,480
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Did you open a ticket yet? It sounds like a local bind config problem.
     
  6. deepak_k_rana

    deepak_k_rana Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello Admin,

    I did open a Ticket. But after one reply of Perl upgradation, I didn't get much response.

    But, I just had my OS installation and cpanel installation. which has resloved the problem.

    Many Many Thanks for your support.

    Best Regards
    Deepak K Rana
     
  7. PuNkEr

    PuNkEr Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    cpanel nick thanks for the response.

    Well I have currently got cPanel and WHM re-installed so I will try again to add zones etc.. and if it fails i will open a ticket. Thanks for everyone's help though!
     
  8. faqall

    faqall Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    i have had server setup 3 times and still this problem exists, tried updating to edge and current. these dont fix :(
     
  9. greenba

    greenba Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Bosnia and Herzegowina
    Same with me. I have reinstalled 2 times. and I still cannot see DNS zone..

    Can anyone help?
     
  10. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    north carolina
    I am having this same problem on WHM 9.9.9 cPanel 9.9.9-R70, RedHat enterprise 3.

    My named process is running and starts with no errors, i have tried /scripts/fixndc and /scripts/fixnamed. When adding a DNS zone, the zone is not actually added to /etc/named.conf and the zonefile is not created in /var/named. I can run rndc fine and it talks with named.

    I created ticket 85689 for this problem.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #10 sloop, Jan 6, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2005
  11. sloop

    sloop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    north carolina
    running upcp fixed the problem for me. i noticed that it updated a lot of perl modules. i had installed a few perl modules from the command line awhile ago, i wonder if that was related.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice