The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Zone Records do not show when I access the "edit" function from WHM

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by bpmee, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. bpmee

    bpmee Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi All,

    Thanks in advance to any thoughts on this...

    When I login to WHM and go to the "Edit DNS" section, WHM successfully loads the Edit DNS page, but no actual list of Zone files appear!

    Note, all my sites load and the server is running normally. BIND (Named) is on and all the websites are fully accessible from the web.

    Also, I checked my /var/named folder and all the .db files for each domain exist!

    I tried searching for problems to this and tried the following solutions to no avail:

    1.) Click on Edit DNS zone link, and simply wait several minutes for all the zones to load into the page.

    RESULT: Nothing, I waited for nearly an hour and nothing came up!

    2.) Run /scripts/upcp and try accessing menu again

    RESULT: Nothing, same problem, no zone files show!

    Any ideas????:confused:

    Thanks!:)
     
  2. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have the same problem on 1 machine, I'll let you know what comes of it.
     
  3. bpmee

    bpmee Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks - Any luck on your end?

    Hi MN-Robert,

    Thanks for your help with this - any luck sorting it out on your end?
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What does "/etc/rc.d/init.d/named status" tell you?
     
  5. bpmee

    bpmee Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks - here's the results -

    Hi Spiral,

    Thanks for your help, here is what the output was:

    Code:
    number of zones: 36
    debug level: 0
    xfers running: 0
    xfers deferred: 0
    soa queries in progress: 0
    query logging is OFF
    server is up and running
    
    This is correct, there are 36 zones I believe, and all the websites function - however, I can't actually access the individual zone files from WHM because they do not appear when I click the "edit DNS" link!
     
  6. liquidcherry

    liquidcherry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi all,

    I have exact the same prob.....after deleting the zones (because i got the anoying a entry popup over and over when i start WHM...)

    I am trying to setup a new server :-(

    (this problem comes along with other problems like apache status is not shown)

    All threads here are not helpful( i checked webhostgear too), worked manually on all relevant files on the server(even andy reed's tutorial was not working)

    Any idea(i cannot submit a ticket to cpanel support because i am on the planet--horrible support anyway there) :-(

    Any help?

    Cheers,

    Frank
     
  7. headout

    headout Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  8. liquidcherry

    liquidcherry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thx but i did ALL in the various threads, still no dns zones, annoying A entry popup etc.

    Something is really messed up, i will seek professional help even i am not a newbie :-(

    Cheers,

    Frank
     
  9. MN-Robert

    MN-Robert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  10. bpmee

    bpmee Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks that did it!

    Hi All,

    Thanks for that post - things are OK now!
     
  11. liquidcherry

    liquidcherry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi all,

    I am still having the problems, the dns zones are not showing.....

    Another odd thing is that the apache status is also gone, nothing comes up when you click on it.

    My stats:

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R9808
    CentOS 4.4 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    Mabe there is something badly wrong with WHM??

    Cheers,

    Frank
     
Loading...

Share This Page