The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS zones and Accounts problem

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by fileshackbiz, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. fileshackbiz

    fileshackbiz Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well I accidently deleted a users DNS zone. When I recreated it through WHM the zone was created under my master account instead of his sub account. The domain is now listed under my account and his is not listed at all in WHM.
    I do not have root access to the server but if there is no other way to fix it I can contact my host who does. Either way if someone could tell me how to fix this I would appreciated it greatly.
     
  2. ujr

    ujr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm not sure if I follow you completely, but you should contact your host. :)
     
  3. shw

    shw Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I had this same issue. This is definitely a cpanel issue. When you delete the zone there is a file under /var/cpanel/users for each account that is created. If you cat that file you will see an X and possibly a 1 in front of the DNS=domain.com. You need to vi that file and remove the X and 1 (if the 1 is there).

    Although I was told this was the only thing I needed to do I still was not able to find that account in WHM or cPanel. After talking to my hosted support we found a script in the /scripts folder called "updateuserdomains". After running this script all was well again.

    Hope that helps...
     
  4. fileshackbiz

    fileshackbiz Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well I contacted my host and he didn't know what to do either lol. I'll have him try that though shw. Thanks for the help.
     
  5. jlmajlma

    jlmajlma Registered

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When adding accounts the DNS zones are not being created

    I am running Cpanel WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-S58
    RedHat Enterprise 3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    After upgrading to this version (yesterday) any new account created does not have the proper DNS zone files.

    It seems that Cpanel does not create the files as it used to do with the older version.

    Any fixes?

    Thanks!

    Joe Martinz
     
  6. 2mhost.com

    2mhost.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    same problem here, very annoying, WHM check and use DNS in whois db rather than predefined DNS in server setup

    "Disable whois lookups for the nameserver IP manager" is checked .. no luck!!?
     
  7. techark

    techark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yep having same problem here getting pretty silly have to go back and edit every dns zone after a new account is created.

    I have tried checking and unchecking the boxes in tweak settings and it still does it.

    This is supposed to be a stable release. HELLO??
     
  8. 2mhost.com

    2mhost.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    problem not only in editing zone manually, but account creation may take now 15 mins if domain is newely registered

    other problem in resellers, they are not techs .. hard to tell them what they must do not to break other settings.

    why cpanel ppl not find a fix .. its not a big deal!
     
  9. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I have another thread going about this, it would be appreciated if you could Vote/Leave comments on the Bugzilla entry I added here:

    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=4772

    Thanks,

    Chris.
     
  10. fileshackbiz

    fileshackbiz Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well I managed to fix my problem without the need of my host.

    Though I deleted the dns zone I didn't delete the account it just wasn't showing up in WHM for some reason.
    I was able to access the edituser script directly and put the account name in the address bar like this http://domain.com:2086/scripts/edituser?domain=username

    This allowed me to edit the domain associated with this user back to what it should be.

    *Note if you created another DNS zone for the domain you must delete it as the domain cannot be setup in your WHM already.

    Hope this helps anyone else that had a similar problem as me.
     
Loading...

Share This Page