The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS zones becoming fubbarred???

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by BianchiDude, May 8, 2008.

  1. BianchiDude

    BianchiDude Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a bunch of people who's DNS zones becoming fubbarred???

    Is anyone else having this issue?
     
  2. methos

    methos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't even know what this means .... can you explain?
     
  3. BianchiDude

    BianchiDude Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    fubbarred means like screwed up.
     
  4. brianc

    brianc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes I am. I had custom records set in certain zone files such as MX records that have all been reset.

    Brian
     
  5. dorris

    dorris Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am getting a lot of new accounts added, and the zone files do not get added completely.

    the zones are missing from dns editor, and on the shell, I find domain.tld.db.work.
    To rectify, I delete the file, and create my own zone file.

    would love someone to pick up this problem and find a solution.
     
    #5 dorris, Jun 2, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you find the .work file this generally makes there was an error in the zone and it was not installed.

    If you are experiencing this problem frequently, please open a ticket @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/
     
  7. rvskin

    rvskin Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Upon save on the WHM/Tweak cPanel try to add whm, cpanel, webmail and webdisk on the existing zone files. It cause a serious issues on several of our clients.

    * Some which moved from one to another server a year ago are reverted back to the old IP.
    * some of custom cname and a records on the zone file are removed.
    * Some of our custom spf records are changed.

    There is no .work on /var/named/.

    PS: we are using cpanel dns cluster which link all servers into a single master DNS.
     
  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you have an instance of this, please submit a ticket @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/

    Since this feature only appends entries to zone files its likely that there is a synchronization problem somewhere and GETZONES is receiving older zones from somewhere in the cluster. We cannot be sure without direct access however.
     
  9. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Build 25040+ will contain an update to handle cluster desync problems better then previous builds.
     
  10. rvskin

    rvskin Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The DNS zones were fixed manually. But I can tell you which domain names have the problem. Not sure it will be useful. PM me if you want the login access. to our DNS cluster servers.
     
  11. ethix

    ethix Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    i have stopped receiving emails, i just went to Edit DNS Zone selected a domain and i get

     
  12. asiams

    asiams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hokkaido, JAPAN
    Unable to parse zone errer here too

    I also have the same problem here.

    I have copied an account from other server. Then I had to delete this account. Later days, I had to copy the same account from the same server to the current server with the same copy method. Now when I tried to modify the DNS Zone file from WHM, I get the error:

    Unable to parse zone: Error while parsing zonedata for andvision.net: bad name in PTR, line 34 ...propagated at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/CPAN/Net/DNS/ZoneFile/Fast.pm line 142.

    Here is my setup:

    WHM 11.23.0 cPanel 11.23.3-R25048
    CENTOS Enterprise 5 i686 on virtuozzo - WHM X v3.1.0

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

    asiams
     
  13. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you are seeing an error with /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/CPAN/Net/DNS/ZoneFile/Fast.pm this generally means that the dns zone has invalid data in it and it cannot be loaded.

    You'll need to manually edit the zone to correct the error before it can be loaded up. Previous versions ignored errors in zones whereas the new version will not let you save or load a zone with errors.

    If you open a ticket @ https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/ we should be able to correct the zone for you. If you would like me to look @ it personally, please pm me the ticket #.
     
  14. protocol

    protocol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We also had mysterious resetting of custom dns zones on one server in our cluster (not a dns server). Not good!.

    I think these may have been related (as suggested) to saving the tweak settings after the cpanel proxy setting was enabled. The effects though seem to have been delayed until some other change. This seems to be the case and dns backups from a week ago are wrong even though the right ones were working 2 days ago. Very strange!
     
  15. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    we are seeing a ton of weird zones

    We have about 9 servers in our cluster -
    and all have funky zones now

    N\272belguardinetk1ctmiinc.lh
    N\272belguardonl%k1ctmiinc.lh
    N%billdobledch25ggvine.k1ctmiinc.lh
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.021covergodsumcl09
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.dontestm.\ (\n\t
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.fourthfamilies09
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.gracem.\ (\n\t
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.gracm.%llea%ggIl\ 10.9.0-RELEASE_411411;ETA_1mtpletsant.\ngnj.\n2oalpte14.vinehostgracepoint.enterIl%2lphaehact0a%\ \ \ \ 86400\tIN\ \ \ \ \ \ SOA\ \ \ \ \ ns.vinehosting.com.\ support.vin\t200ng.com09e6nitw\ Il%2.
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.leessummitm.\ (\n\t
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.longschape209
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.ohiofaith09
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.optdmizemy09
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.seeor%ray09
    N\ ck1ctmiinc.st-thomasa%ggvc
    N!coverg\ k1ctmiinc.ds


    posted a ticket
     
  16. drew5746

    drew5746 Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is the same issue which caused us 3 outages within the past 2 weeks.
     
  17. Spokuz

    Spokuz Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lisbon - Portugal
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm having the same problem of 'hostmedic'. Lots of strange DNS entries when i check 'Edit DNS zone' at WHM
     
  18. Spokuz

    Spokuz Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lisbon - Portugal
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    About this situation i receive the following answer to a ticket:

     
Loading...

Share This Page