The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dns

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by paulipv, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. paulipv

    paulipv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    Is posible a simple dns manager implementation on cpanel for a and cname records and to be available thought api.

    Thank you.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One way to implement this would be to create a cPanel Plugin so you have a separate screen to review/edit DNS entries.

    However, your script will need to use the XML API and authenticate itself as a reseller or root user to retrieve and set/edit the DNS entries as cPanel users natively don't have privileges to that functionality.

    Version 11.25 will introduce many new DNS functions to make building such a plug-in easier. You can find the documentation for the XML API including the version 11.25 DNS functions at: XmlApi < AllDocumentation/AutomationIntegration < TWiki
     
  3. paulipv

    paulipv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You have for me a date when 11.25 will be release?
     
  4. paulipv

    paulipv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Btw, dont forget to add on 11.25
    DelZoneRecord API function

    And about EditZoneRecord
    https://example.com:2087/xml-api/editzonerecord?domain=example.com&Line=2&ttl=86400

    Line=2
    is not posible to find by using the host name ?

    if we are using an external DNS panel, will give us a lot of work to find
    the line.

    For example

    host1 IN A 1.1.1.1
    host2 IN A 2.2.2.2

    request:
    example.com:2087/xml-api/editzonerecord?domain=example.com&host=host1&newip=newipaddress
     
  5. paulipv

    paulipv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think you are gonna use the "Line parameter"
    because of other edit options
    Like refresh, ttl, etc.

    However i think you can get a 2nd sollution for this ;)
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is no ETA on 11.25, though you can experiment with these functions in the EDGE build.
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    See: DeleteDNSZone < AllDocumentation/AutomationIntegration < TWiki

    You can use the dumpzone function to retrieve all the DNS records for a DNS Zone:

    ListOneZone < AllDocumentation/AutomationIntegration < TWiki
     
  8. paulipv

    paulipv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    And how can i delete a host?
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You mean deleting an entire DNS Zone or just 1 DNS record?
     
  10. paulipv

    paulipv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just 1 record.
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have spoken with our QA team member that handles our APIs about having this functionality added in 11.25. You are correct in your assessment that there is currently no way via our APIs to delete just 1 record.
     
  12. paulipv

    paulipv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for your support.

    1. cpanel its really the best hosting software around the world.
    2. you are to great guys, best support EVER.
     
Loading...

Share This Page