The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dnsadmin loops

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by kufel, Aug 12, 2004.

  1. kufel

    kufel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC baby
    Hello

    Recently after implementing, server clustering for dns using cpanel, one of our servers started experiencing "dnsadmin" loops - putting high loads on the server, making any dns changes almost impossible due to slow response.

    The server runs RH 9 and cpanel 9.4.1-S65 , search in forums did not yeld any constructive results, upgrades to latest current or edge versions did not help,.

    any solutions?
     
  2. kufel

    kufel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC baby
    bump,

    nobody encountered the problem before?
     
  3. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    same problem here.
     
  4. kufel

    kufel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NYC baby
    my problem was resolved [with no help from cpanel]

    it was related to dns clustering bugs,

    the system writes the cluster config files in this directory:
    /var/cpanel/cluster/root/config/

    removing server from the cluster using the whm cluster grid interface, still left the config files for the obsolete servers in the directory. cluster system kept trying to update dns zones on those non existing servers.

    removing the files solved our problems in about 15 seconds.
     
  5. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    thank you, you helped me out!! :D
     
  6. irchs

    irchs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This issue is still present on 10.0.0 EDGE 151.

    Thanks

    Jan
     
  7. irchs

    irchs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Actually... I tell a lie, this issue may not be present, but if your firewall is blocking 2087 outgoing, your server can't sync causing DNSadmin to loop :)

    Thanks

    Jan
     
  8. nat

    nat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    would that be outgoing udp or tcp?
     
  9. nat

    nat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  10. Echelon17

    Echelon17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Update

    Hi guys,

    Just thought I'd update this thread with my own findings.

    dnsadmin seems to run at 100% CPU usage when it cannot connect to the other servers in a cluster. This can either be down to a firewall issue, or one of the servers being down.

    Anyone reported this as a bug?
     
Loading...

Share This Page