The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNSONLY Error

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mainarea, Aug 1, 2004.

  1. mainarea

    mainarea Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Syncing all zones....Done
    Bind reloading on local using rndc
    Error reloading bind on local: rndc: connect failed: connection refused

    I get that when I try syncing... how can this be fixed & what's causing that error? I tried "service named restart" but it's not spitting out anything.

    - Matt
     
  2. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    /scripts/fixnamed
    /scripts/fixndc
     
  3. mainarea

    mainarea Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    root@dhcppc3 [~]# /scripts/fixnamed
    root@dhcppc3 [~]# /scripts/fixndc
    Fixndc using rh9/rhes3/fedora support
    Adding key...
    Adding controls...
    Adding hint zone...
    cp: cannot stat `/etc/namedb/named.conf': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `/etc/namedb/named.conf.fixndc': No such file or directory
    Restarting bind.....Waiting for named to restart..............finished.


    named has failed, please contact the sysadmin (result was "named is not running").
    Done

    Still not working, not sure why. Is there anything that CPanel may have not installed?

    - Matt
     
  4. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just got through going down this path

    reinstall all the bind rpms using force

    this should install the support files you are missing
     
  5. mainarea

    mainarea Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Retrieving http://ftp.dc.aleron.net/linux/fedora/linux/core/1/i386/os/Fedora/RPMS/bind-9.2.2.P3-9.i386.rpm
    warning: /var/tmp/rpm-xfer.yHjIe5: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 4f2a6fd2
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    1:bind ########################################### [100%]

    Retrieving http://ftp.dc.aleron.net/linux/fedo...os/Fedora/RPMS/bind-devel-9.2.2.P3-9.i386.rpm
    warning: /var/tmp/rpm-xfer.KK8Bef: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 4f2a6fd2
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    1:bind-devel ########################################### [100%]

    Retrieving http://ftp.dc.aleron.net/linux/fedo...os/Fedora/RPMS/bind-utils-9.2.2.P3-9.i386.rpm
    warning: /var/tmp/rpm-xfer.Lzr4eo: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 4f2a6fd2
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    1:bind-utils ########################################### [100%]


    service named (stop/start/restart/status) still doesn't spit out anything, looks like it's still FUBAR:

    root@dhcppc3 [/usr/src/redhat/SOURCES]# /scripts/fixndc
    Fixndc using rh9/rhes3/fedora support
    Adding key...
    Adding controls...
    Adding hint zone...
    cp: cannot stat `/etc/namedb/named.conf': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `/etc/namedb/named.conf.fixndc': No such file or directory
    Restarting bind.....Waiting for named to restart..............finished.


    named has failed, please contact the sysadmin (result was "named is not running").

    root@dhcppc3 [/usr/src/redhat/SOURCES]# rndc status
    rndc: connect failed: connection refused


    Any more ideas?

    - Matt
     
  6. mainarea

    mainarea Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just uninstalled bind & reinstalled it completely, now I'm getting this:

    Syncing all zones....Done
    Bind reloading on dhcppc3 using rndc
    Error reloading bind on dhcppc3: rndc: decode base64 secret: bad base64 encoding

    What is wrong with CPanel??? :confused: I've never seen so many issues with CPanel.

    - Matt
     
    #6 mainarea, Aug 2, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2004
  7. mainarea

    mainarea Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Code:
    Syncing all zones....Done
    Bind reloading on dhcppc3 using rndc
    Error reloading bind on dhcppc3: rndc: connect failed: connection refused
     
    Now that's happening again...
     
  8. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    rerun the scripts listed above
     
  9. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also this is not a cpanel issue

    Most probably whoever installed the OS did a minimal install and some of the support libs and files do not get installed

    I just went down this road with RHEL last week. Nothing to do with cpanel it was a minimal (aka too lazy to make sure everything was installed) install of the OS
     
  10. mainarea

    mainarea Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    root@dhcppc3 [~]# /scripts/fixnamed
    root@dhcppc3 [~]# /scripts/fixndc
    Fixndc using rh9/rhes3/fedora support
    Adding key...
    Adding controls...
    Adding hint zone...
    cp: cannot stat `/etc/namedb/named.conf': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `/etc/namedb/named.conf.fixndc': No such file or directory
    Restarting bind.....Waiting for named to restart..............finished.


    named has failed, please contact the sysadmin (result was "named is not running").
    Done

    No matter how many times I run it, it doesn't get fixed.


    Yes, I did do a minimal install + compilers & a few other options, but yes, I did install all dependencies that bind needed.

    - Matt
     
  11. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well there are 2 ways to fix it from here

    1-manually create the needed files

    2-format and reload

    If everything else is working alright ya might do well manually creating the files

    If you have any other issues with the box ya might be better off to format and reload
     
  12. mainarea

    mainarea Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What files are needed? There are no other problems with this box, no need to reformat. I'll eventually email support if I can't figure it out.

    - Matt
     
  13. teck

    teck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just got the same error on a brand new centos 3.1 server:

    Fixndc using rh9/rhes3/fedora support
    Adding key...
    Adding controls...
    Adding hint zone...
    cp: cannot stat `/etc/namedb/named.conf': No such file or directory
    cp: cannot stat `/etc/namedb/named.conf.fixndc': No such file or directory
    Restarting bind.....Waiting for named to restart..............finished.


    named has failed, please contact the sysadmin (result was "named is not running").
    Done
    All fixed
     
  14. teck

    teck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same thing on a fresh fedora server. That's 2 for 2. Anyone have any ideas?

    Edit: This is not the dns only installer, it's the regular cpanel installer I've been using.
     
  15. teck

    teck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Make that 3 servers. 2 Fedora 1 boxes and 1 CentOS. I've removed all the bind rpms, tried sysup, updatenow, and even ran the cpanel installer again. I either get

    bind is installed and is the latest version.
    bind-devel is installed and is the latest version.
    bind-utils is installed and is the latest version.

    Or I see the installer install the rpms but bind is still missing. /scripts/ensurerpm bind does no good either. I think there is a serious bug in the installer.
     
  16. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does each of these boxes have a /etc/named.conf ?

    if not make one

    touch /etc/named.conf and rerun the /scripts/fixnamed and /scripts/fixndc
     
  17. teck

    teck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That seems to work, don't know why I didn't think of it. In any case, 4 boxes here and mainarea's had the same problem so some check as to be built into the installer or perhaps a more informative error other than named is not installed would be helpeful :)

    Thanks again.
     
  18. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have had this same problem and it only seems to happen for me when I do a minimal install.

    If I go through and select packages then all the bind support files are installed

    I have not tried Fedora yet so I can not speak for it
     
  19. teck

    teck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's actually a standard server install. I didn't select any packages, nor deselect. This has only caused problems recently, maybe in the last 2 days. Before, it's been fine.
     
  20. elliotcooper

    elliotcooper Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I was getting a similar error:

    /etc/rndc.key:1: configuring key 'rndckey': bad base64 encoding

    which I fixed by removing and reinstalling bind and caching-nameserver packages using the following commands:

    yum remove bind caching-nameserver

    and followed by:

    yum install bind caching-nameserver

    I hope that helps someone.
     
Loading...

Share This Page