Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNSonly Issues

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by ctrl, May 28, 2012.

  1. ctrl

    ctrl Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Current config

    corporate site - off network reseller plan
    |
    |__ ns1 (ns1/2 set up on this providers server)
    |__ ns2
    |
    | Clustered DNS
    |
    |__ ns3
    | |______
    |__ ns4 |____ cPanel servers for clients
    |_____|


    For the zone file on the reseller plan I added

    ns3 IN A IP of ns on cluster
    ns4 IN A IP of ns cluster

    I also created ( I know this is incorrect but I tried it just out of frustration )

    domain IN NS ns3
    domain IN NS ns4

    The issue I have is that at the registrar level I cannot point .COM .NET domains with ns3/4 as I get "does not exist" errors

    I can however point .ORG extensions to ns3/4 !

    INTODNS
    LeafDNS

    Both show no configuration errors for .ORG extentions when pointed to ns3/4 and resolve to test accounts

    This issue has been tested with more than 1 registrar, where .ORG is the only extension that will work.

    So obviously I am doing something wrong, and further can anyone explain the cause of why certain extensions fail while others work?

    I thank you in advanced for your assistance.
     
    #1 ctrl, May 28, 2012
    Last edited: May 28, 2012
  2. ctrl

    ctrl Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I failed to mention, On this cluster I also have 2 other separate (unbranded) name servers running.

    No problem with them.
     
  3. ctrl

    ctrl Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry to bump,

    but the issue is solved.

    Appears to have been a bug in initial setup where the two zone files of the NS was corrupted.


    For anyone else

    I fixed by

    cd /var/named/ domain.tld.db and fixed the zone file.

    After that edit dns record in cpanel and save -- pushes to your cluster, no changes needed if you did everything via SSH.



    I still have no clue why .orgs would resolve. But I swear it to be the case, tried multiple domains and registrars.

    Cheers
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice