The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNSonly Issues

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ctrl, May 28, 2012.

  1. ctrl

    ctrl Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Current config

    corporate site - off network reseller plan
    |
    |__ ns1 (ns1/2 set up on this providers server)
    |__ ns2
    |
    | Clustered DNS
    |
    |__ ns3
    | |______
    |__ ns4 |____ cPanel servers for clients
    |_____|


    For the zone file on the reseller plan I added

    ns3 IN A IP of ns on cluster
    ns4 IN A IP of ns cluster

    I also created ( I know this is incorrect but I tried it just out of frustration )

    domain IN NS ns3
    domain IN NS ns4

    The issue I have is that at the registrar level I cannot point .COM .NET domains with ns3/4 as I get "does not exist" errors

    I can however point .ORG extensions to ns3/4 !

    INTODNS
    LeafDNS

    Both show no configuration errors for .ORG extentions when pointed to ns3/4 and resolve to test accounts

    This issue has been tested with more than 1 registrar, where .ORG is the only extension that will work.

    So obviously I am doing something wrong, and further can anyone explain the cause of why certain extensions fail while others work?

    I thank you in advanced for your assistance.
     
    #1 ctrl, May 28, 2012
    Last edited: May 28, 2012
  2. ctrl

    ctrl Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I failed to mention, On this cluster I also have 2 other separate (unbranded) name servers running.

    No problem with them.
     
  3. ctrl

    ctrl Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry to bump,

    but the issue is solved.

    Appears to have been a bug in initial setup where the two zone files of the NS was corrupted.


    For anyone else

    I fixed by

    cd /var/named/ domain.tld.db and fixed the zone file.

    After that edit dns record in cpanel and save -- pushes to your cluster, no changes needed if you did everything via SSH.



    I still have no clue why .orgs would resolve. But I swear it to be the case, tried multiple domains and registrars.

    Cheers
     
Loading...

Share This Page