The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNSonly migration and migration accounts on new server

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Clouseau, Oct 19, 2015.

  1. Clouseau

    Clouseau Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I need a little help with the following settings and migration. This is my current config: One cpanel/whm server(lets name him MAIN) which is also a ns1.mydomain.tld and ns2.mydomain.tld nameserver for all the accounts it hosts. It has one IP address, both ns1 and ns2 are pointing to that ip address.

    I want to seperate the DNS function and later migrate all the accounts from MAIN to another MAIN_NEW server.

    1) I will rent two VPS servers for DNSonly:
    VPS1 - ns1.mydomain.tld
    VPS2 - ns2.mydomain.tld

    Then I will add them to DNS cluster in MAIN server. I will set DNSonly to Syncronize on MAIN server. And on DNSonly servers, MAIN server will be set to Standalone.
    a) Is this right?
    b) Do I need to go to Basic cPanel & WHM Setup, after I add DNSonly servers, and change the namservers A records or they will be changed automatically? Do I need to do that also on DNSonly servers?
    c) After the DNS cluster is set up, will the MAIN server still keep zones or he only fetches them from DNSonly servers ie. when I edit zone on MAIN server is that editing done on MAIN zone and then it syncs to DNSonly servers or the editing is done directly on DNSonly servers?
    d) If MAIN server does keep zones and also newly created zones then there will be no downtime when I seperate DNS from MAIN server to DNSonly servers and change A records at domain registrar right? The other DNS servers on the internet which didn't yet sync to new records, will point to ns1 and ns2 on MAIN server so the websites and mail will wtill work. And when all the DNS servers sync, they will point to ns1 and ns2 on DNSonly servers. So basically there will be no downtime. Right?

    2) After I did all the above, I will need to migrate all the accounts to new server. So idea is to install new server MAIN_NEW and then add above VPS1 and VPS2 nameservers to new DNS cluster config on new MAIN_NEW server. Is the DNS config the same as above? Like this:
    On MAIN_NEW set ns1.mydomain.tld and ns2.mydomain.tld to Syncronize
    On ns1 and ns2 set MAIN_NEW to Standalone.
    a) wouldn't the MAIN_NEW server which will have no zones after installation wipe all the zone data on ns1 and ns2 servers which MAIN servers is also using? Because of the Syncronize and Standalone relation in MAIN_NEW DNS cluster config?
    b) When I migrate one account, how does the zone migration work? Should I transer the account with:

    "Copy an Account From Another Server With an Account Password"
    or "Restore a Full Backup/cpmove File"

    Example: when account migrates to MAIN_NEW through the first option, the MAIN server keeps the account or will it delete with zone data? MAIN_NEW server creates account and new zone data and pushes it to DNSonly servers? If MAIN server keeps the account and keeps the zone data of that account, wouldn't there be a problem in zone updating of that account? I mean, MAIN server will sync zone data of the account to DNSonly servers and also MAIN_NEW will sync zone data of the same account which is migrated on him?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Clouseau

    Clouseau Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have 2 year dedicated cPanel licence paid in advance and monthly licence for VPS. Should I open a ticket to cPanel for this to get answers? Do I have some support included in the licence or it doesn't arrive with it? Should I ask this questions buycpanel, where I bought the licences? :)

    EDIT: basically I figured it right, the cpanel support helped me
     
    #2 Clouseau, Oct 20, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2015
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I am happy to see your questions were answered. Would you mind sharing the ticket number so we can update this thread with the outcome?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page