The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNSonly problem

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by simonas, May 3, 2013.

  1. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello developers,

    I just noticed this insane thing.

    I have multiple servers:
    domain1.com first NS - server itself, secondary - ns1.dnsonly.com
    domain2.com first NS - server itself, secondary - ns1.dnsonly.com
    domain3.com first NS - server itself, secondary - ns1.dnsonly.com

    One DNSonly server:
    ns1.dnsonly.com

    I have set servers (domain1.com, domain2.com domain3.com) DNS clusters to "Synchronize changes" to ns1.dnsonly.com server (one way, right), and UNchecked " Setup Reverse Trust Relationship".

    That means domain1.com, domain2.com domain3.com only outgoing changes to ns1.dnsonly.com right?
    WRONG!

    After some time domain1.com, domain2.com and domain3.com began sharing records.
    When i make "Synchronize all zones to all servers" all zones are synchronized in all servers.

    How? I do not provide ns1.dnsonly.com any access to servers.

    "Synchronize all zones to all servers" is useful when more than one DNSonly server will come online, but i don't get how it syncs with other servers.

    To be clear:
    ns1.dnsonly.com - There are currently no servers in your DNS cluster.
    And servers only with one arrow to the ns1.dnsonly.com .


    Can anybody clarify this?
     
  2. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Got it fixed.
    Had to set DNS roles to "Write-only".
    Click synchronize in all 3 servers.
    This removed zones from foreign servers.

    DNS only server had bad records, so deleted /var/named
    Clicked syncronize on all 3 server again.

    And everything is great now.
     
  3. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was wrong. I was looking only at the DNS db files,

    Cpanel still lists all non-existing domains.
    When i do dns cleanup it says etc/named.conf if not correct.

    Already tried repairing etc/named.conf via ssh scripts

    Cpanel still lists them, won't allow to delete.

    Please help :)
     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is how it works.
    Get used to it or don't use it.
    That's why I don't use it.
     
  5. simonas

    simonas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    quietFinn, thanks for responding.

    But i expect a word from developers and actual problem solving.
     
Loading...

Share This Page