Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNSonly Server License Concerns

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by popeye, Mar 31, 2019.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I was told that having 4 DNS server was the best option which i have.

    But was told last week you can use your cpanel servers had DNS Servers so wanted to which is the best option please.
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    368
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes you can use each of your active hosting servers as a DNS server if you like
    We use 4+ DNS only though out of convenience.
    That Way we can Retire,take down, or change a server without messing with the dns + we have a lot of zones so it save some resources.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks i also think it's easy to add or remove cPanel servers, i am thinking of keep my 4 DNS server only thing that puts me off a bit is cPanel will be charging for them soon.
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    368
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    cpanel has made no such claims that they will be charging for them that I am aware of
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    368
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I know but they are going to charge at some point
     
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes Received:
    509
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The article pretty clearly states that they will remain free for the time being:

    as for the why we're adding licenses:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why has the topic on this post changed i never put License Concerns ? wanted to know what people thought of DNS only servers or use cpanel server has DNS server
     
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,502
    Likes Received:
    509
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,955
    Likes Received:
    485
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I believe the original title was simply: DNS Server, which makes no sense.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It does to me and this is the description below which i was asking.

    I was told that having 4 DNS servers was the best option which i have.

    But was told last week you can use your cpanel servers had DNS Servers so wanted to which is the best option please.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice