Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Do I edit /usr/local/lib/php.ini to setup Opcache

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by ItsMattSon, Jan 14, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ItsMattSon

    ItsMattSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    Can somebody advise whether I need to edit the /usr/local/lib/php.ini file to configure Opcache or can I copy the config out of there and put it at the bottom of the MultiPHP Editor ea-php56 PHP INI?

    I'd really rather not have them so separate.. and also I'm worried editing usr-local-lib php ini is the wrong thing to do since I thought all changes to the PHP INI should be made via MultiPHP?

    Could someone tell me how I should be going about it?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,704
    Likes Received:
    1,883
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    ItsMattSon likes this.
  3. ItsMattSon

    ItsMattSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Hi @cPanelMichael,

    I have set up my server using SuPHP as PHP Handler, and then "applied" the PHP-FPM option to the account which started OPcache to show "cache hits" whereby before it didn't. So far, so good (i hope). I hope I haven't set this up wrong so far (since I know SuPHP isn't compatible, but PHP-FPM is?)

    I ended up editing /usr/local/lib/php.ini and uncommenting all the OPcache lines, which I'm now not sure this is what is supposed to be done?

    I looked for your recommended opcache.ini file in /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/etc/php.d/ but I'm afraid there are no files in there with 'opcache' in it. Is that a sign that I've already configured OPcache wrong? Or do I need to manually create it and move all OPcache config lines into there and OPcache automatically uses it?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,704
    Likes Received:
    1,883
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Global php.ini edits need to occur on the specific version of PHP when using EasyApache 4. For example, with PHP 5.6, the path is:

    Code:
    /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/etc/php.ini
    With PHP 5.6, Opcache is assoicated with the ZendGuard package. You can verify if the associated RPM for OPcache with PHP 5.6 is installed with a command such as:

    Code:
    rpm -qa|grep ea-php56-php-zendguard
    If so, the file path you are looking for is:

    Code:
    /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/etc/php.d/zendguard.ini
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    ItsMattSon likes this.
  5. ItsMattSon

    ItsMattSon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Perth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks @cPanelMichael!

    I re-commented out the OPcache config lines in /usr/local/lib/php.ini and copied them into
    /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/etc/php.d/zendguard.ini instead.

    A note for PHP-FPM, I had to re-Apply the PHP version in MultipPHP Manager for phpinfo to reflect the Directives I changed the values for (Non-php-fpm domains didn't need this extra step).

    One last question for you and I'm sorted!

    Is the zendguard.ini overwritten across cPanel updates? Will I lose the config I put in there?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,704
    Likes Received:
    1,883
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The changes made in that file are preserved through updates.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    ItsMattSon likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice