The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need 2 cpanel liscenses for a pair of clustered servers?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by EdRooney, Dec 24, 2004.

  1. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do I need 2 cpanel liscenses for a pair of clustered servers?

    I am assuming I only need 1 cpanel liscense and the 2 servers can share it as they are on 1 public IP from the load balancer, is this correct?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you're only using one at a time with the same internet facing IP address, I would guess that you'd only need one. But you should ask billing@cpanel.net as only they can tell you their requirements.
     
  3. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well both would be used at the same time, they are load balanced, but they would only be receiving half as much usage as they normally would unless 1 goes down, but then its only using 1 at a time.

    Is it possible to order 2 cpanel liscenses for the same IP? If not will they think I'm trying to hack or steal a liscense if I am running 2 servers off the same ip?
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    As chirpy said, only billing or sales @cPanel.net can answer this type of question. Anything from the forum would be speculation.
     
  5. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perhaps one the employees from cpanel that uses this forum could respond.
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Why do insist on not doing things the way people suggest?

    You ask a question people give you guidance and suggestions yet you refuse to follow that advice. Billing and Sales staff generally do not come on the forum and only the support staff do, and I will bet that they will tell you the exact same thing. ASK BILLING@CPANEL.NET.
     
  7. jphilipson

    jphilipson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think it would work with one license if they share a load balanced IP ... not sure what cpanel's official policy on that is though ..
     
  8. EdRooney

    EdRooney BANNED

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a user "cpanelBilling" that frequents these forums. He responded to my post the other day. Also, surely Nick the creator/owner of cpanel or of of the other employees would know this.
     
  9. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    You need glasses. It's cpanelBilly that visits the forums. Billy as in the name, not billybilly the friendly billing service.
     
Loading...

Share This Page