The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I need to open incoming or outgoing for remote mysql?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DWHS.net, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The port that needs to be open for remote mysql, does the firewall on the file server need to have the port open for incoming or outgoing or both.

    Even better with cfs how can only allow access to that port from one or two ip's?

    :p
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Outgoing only needed for a remote MySQL server. In csf.allow:

    tcp:eek:ut:d=3306:d=11.22.33.44

    that should do it for remove MySQL server IP 11.22.33.44, duplicate the line for additional IPs then restart csf.
     
  3. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Perfect, thanks Chirpy!
     
  4. katmai

    katmai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    you also need to add on the sql server, assuming that you have csf on it:

    tcp:in:d=3306:s=FRONT_END_SERVER_IP
     
  5. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can I do this for a c-class rather then one ip at a time and how would you do this?

    Something like? tcp:in:d=3306:s=192.168.254.2/255
     
    #5 DWHS.net, Dec 16, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page