The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do I really need to install PHP4?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vlee, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am doing php compilation now it is defaulted to php5 do I really need to install php4 too.

    or

    Can PHP5 work with most applications out there?


    Thanks
     
    #1 vlee, Aug 13, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2009
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I suggest you to install both php4 as well as php5 as some applications cannot run on php5. Hence, need to switch over to php4.
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    PHP 5 will work with the vast majority of applications out there, including most that were coded for PHP 4.
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, you DO NOT need to install PHP 4!

    (In fact, I recommend strongly that you only install PHP 5!)

    PHP 4 is officially past the end of life and is no longer updated or supported
    and there is really no technical reason to have PHP 4.

    On the contrary, very nearly every PHP program ever written will work perfectly on PHP 5 without any modifications whatsoever and PHP 5 is fully backwards compatible to PHP 4 so there is absolutely no reason whatsoever to run pure PHP 4 and that goes double given it is past EOL (End of Life).

    There is only 2 methods and 3 rarely used functions which must be rewritten to get an application using those to work properly under PHP 5 and if you found any program using those, you are talking about the extremely rare exception as I think I've only seen one program in the past decade where that was the case and the modification to fix that took all of 5 seconds.

    There was actually never any reason to run both PHP 4 and PHP 5 together and doing so actually caused a lot of compatibility problems but administrators early on several years ago made the mistake of running both under the idea that there were incompatibilities that didn't really exist. The reason for the misconception was that MySQL 5 had been released roughly around the same time as PHP 5 and many people confused the two. While PHP 5 had no significant backwards compatibility issues and worked fine with most all original PHP 4 scripts out there, MySQL 5 did not and often required extensive code modifications to get programs designed for MySQL 4 to work with the newer MySQL 5 database. Since PHP and MySQL coincidentally had the same version numbers at the time, a lot of people got confused.

    All of that was a number of years ago though and is long since old news! ;)

    Bottom line though is "No, you do not need PHP 4!" :D
     
  5. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    i haven't run php4 in 3 years on any of my shared hosting machines. maybe 4 years now. php5 should do it all.
     
Loading...

Share This Page