The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do not update cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by samtam, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. samtam

    samtam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    OK i think i am not the only one here having problem with cpanel update recently.

    First after the updates and apache recomplie, the whole mysql fails.

    Then i realise that someone upgrade the php and it works.
    So i have done that.

    But here come the real problem, all services can turn off in the middle of the night.

    So now i am really stuck with it.

    If i am not the only one please someone post your comment here and wish cpanel people will see this and improve their product.
     
  2. The MAzTER

    The MAzTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    witch version?

    everything works fine here.

    And if you use the edge its your own fault.
     
  3. samtam

    samtam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    it is the stable verison
     
  4. Devil Inside

    Devil Inside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think the latest RELEASE tree version was doing good. But I can't say for sure. I'm still on 20

    Just a thought if anyone wants to confirm what I've heard - might be a help to manually upgrade to it.
     
  5. The MAzTER

    The MAzTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    using latest release. Its more stable then cpanel was a while ago (no more dns errors either)
     
  6. mgphoto

    mgphoto Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    We updated to WHM 8.5.4 cPanel 8.5.5-R60 the other day and since then the server has crashed every morning at the same time. I am guessing there is a problem with the chron jobs. No new chron jobs had been added since the update and we never had the problem before the update. Now going on 4 days in a row at 8:01 EST.

    We are going back to WHM 8.5.1 cPanel 8.5.3-S3 to see what happens.

    We are running RH 7.3.
     
  7. samtam

    samtam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    exactly what i got as well
    we are also running 7.3 and the stable version of cpanel
     
  8. Mani

    Mani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi

    that scares the S**T out of me

    am currently on RH 9 with WHM 8.5.4 cPanel 8.5.4-R72

    i think i will stay like this untill i hear more here.

    there was a problem with fantastico as well you might need to know about it.

    let us hear some thing good then i might jump up else am ok here.

    feel bad for the guys who got problem :(
     
  9. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    I have 3 servers, all different versions of linux (RH 7.3, RH 9 and Mandrake 9) and they all worked fine.

    I noticed I needed to restart cpanel one time after upgrade to clear cppop which got stuck somehow. After that it was ok. It's been at R60 on all 3 servers for quite some time with no problems.... :) Maybe it's the thing between the keyboard and the chair....

    Brenden
     
  10. Mani

    Mani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well i checked it i mean the thing between the keyboard and the chair it was ok


    but still i will wait a bit more on this, i have costumers and i rreally care to keep them happy.

    i might try it on an other free server but not the ones with hell of costumers on them.

    .
     
  11. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    I updated today to edge 62 because it finally fixes the core file problem in RH9 but I did have to restart Cpanel on all servers after the update. Other then that it is working fine.
     
  12. Mani

    Mani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    did any one of you updated fantastico after the upgrade

    pls. post back if any
     
  13. Planet_Master

    Planet_Master Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Yorker
    I update Fantastico before the Cpanel upgrade.

    I also noticed PHP cannot be compiled with pspell anymore on Cpanel servers, at least on RH9.

    If you are getting the Fantastico Cpanel TEMP file errors just go into /tmp folder and delete the CpanleTEMP files. that should fix things.
     
  14. Mani

    Mani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no actualy i dont get any error simply coz. i did not upgrade the cpanel.

    i think it creats some problems here and there with RH 9

    dont know if any found any thing else with some other OS

    so i will wait for a week at least to see how it will go
     
Loading...

Share This Page