The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Do the backup scripts backup postgres databases

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fishfreek, Mar 20, 2004.

  1. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know the cpanel backup/restore feature allows customers to backup their mysql databases but how do clients backup postgresql databases?

    Also does the WHM backup script back up these databases like they backup mysql databases?
     
  2. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    bump.

    Anyone know?

    We have a client using postgres and it would be nice to know if the backups we are performing include their postgres database.
     
  3. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
  4. barwin

    barwin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manhattan
    why not?

    Does anyone know if there are plans to automate postgres backups within cpanel in the near future? We run our own scripts, but would prefer a clean integration, of course.
     
  5. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think its a very bad thing to offer the ability to create postgresql databses via cpanel and not have the cpanel backup also backup that data. Somewhat misleading and giving customers a false sense of security.
     
  6. barwin

    barwin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manhattan
    I believe there are some warnings when you enable Postgres about it not being fully integrated/stable/ready or something to that effect. But there was no specific warning about there NOT being backups ... which I think is perhaps the most important thing to know.
     
  7. jl1

    jl1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    *bump*

    Is PG support even still in 'test' stage?

    Doesn't seem to be pg backups being performed for a pg enabled client.

    Definitely a large requirement - I don't remember any noticed about pg being in test mode when I installed it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page