The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DocumentRoot query

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by martyf, Oct 17, 2010.

1. martyf

martyf Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm new to cPanel so still finding my way around, and just had a query regarding the "public_html" folder.

For one of my applications, it has folders that sit above the root folder.

For example, www.domain.com would actually be pointing to a "web" folder: eg
    /home/username/public_html/web

This way, there would be other folders in public_html, eg
    /home/username/public_html/classes/
    /home/username/public_html/config/
    etc
    all of which are not visible via a URL.

My question is:
    Should I be looking at how to use the Includes for Apache configuration through WHM, or should I just create these other folders (i.e. classes, config, etc) manually using the cPanel File Manager - eg:
    /home/username/classes/
    /home/username/config/
    /home/username/public_html/

The second way doesn't require any additional changes to Apache, but just after people's thoughts or advice on which way is better, and why?

Cheers,
    Marty

2. cPanelTristan

cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator