The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DocumentRoot

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by StanleyS, May 25, 2008.

  1. StanleyS

    StanleyS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What is the proper way to edit the DocumentRoot?

    I found a thread on WHT that suggested I edited the conf file in /usr/local/apache/conf/sites, but the applicable conf file is not showing up for some reason.
     
  2. romulob

    romulob Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Since you have edited it correctly, run /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf and restart the Apache.
     
  3. StanleyS

    StanleyS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I guess I didn't explain it correctly. The website's conf file does not exist in /usr/local/apache/conf/sites

    In fact, several of the domains hosted on the server do not have conf files in that directory. I have never deleted them so I have no idea why they're not there.

    I manually created a conf file based on the format in the other conf files, and then ran rebuildhttpdconf. Unfortunately this did not work, none of the changes showed up in the main httpd.conf.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The apache/conf/sites directory is for Frontpage.

    For which domain are you attempting to modify the DocumentRoot?

    Primary, sub-domain, addon-domain or parked domain?
     
  5. StanleyS

    StanleyS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  6. StanleyS

    StanleyS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is this the right place to be asking this question or should I be going through my host?
    (I'm short on time)
     
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For swift answers, going to your cPanel licensing provider would be the best option.

    If you are not the root user on the server, contact your hosting provider.
     
Loading...

Share This Page