Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Does AutoSSL renew service certificates?

Discussion in 'Security' started by Cameron Brennan, Oct 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Cameron Brennan

Cameron Brennan Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi All,

cPanel/Whm N00B here and my first post haha.

I have recently started as the IT manager for a small company and walked into a gigantic mess. My background is in infrastructure, so I don't have much experience in web stuff alas and the previous IT guy has recently left. I got an email stating that the service certificates were expiring in 4 days so I thought I would get in there and make sure they were sorted before the weekend came.

I made my first small mistake by resetting the certificate for dovecot mail server with a self-signed certificate. I incorrectly assumed that the cert showing cPanel inc was a self-signed cert.

Anyway, I didn't progress as I didn't want to break anything further. That's when I saw the autossl section. My question is, will autossl renew these service certs or does it only do the website ones? The service certs (other than the one I reset) expire in 4 days.

Thanks very much!

2. sktest123

sktest123 Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    • When a certificate expires, your server installs a self-signed certificate. If your server meets the requirements to obtain a free cPanel-signed certificate, the server automatically orders one the next time that the upcp maintenance script runs. When the signed certificate becomes available, the server downloads and installs it.
    Manage Service SSL Certificates - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

3. Cameron Brennan

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator