The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does cpanel allow more than one account on dedicated ip?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sexy_guy, Apr 26, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Im wondering if this is possible.

    We gave our reseller his own dedicated ip. He has created his own sites, all resolving to his own ip. Problem, none of his sites can ftp. Is this the reason why?

    thanks
     
  2. AceWeb

    AceWeb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, that option, to allow resellers use his/her IP when creating accounts, does not work well with ProFtpd. I switched to pure-ftp and it workes with it just fine.
     
  3. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you give your reseller his dedicated ip, he can create sites no problem and everthing works. What doesnt work is ftp. So your saying pure-ftpd allows multiple sites to use ftp if they are on a dedicated ip and not a shared ip? Can somebody confirm this?
     
  4. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What? Howcome your responses make no sense, ever? I wondering what your talking about most of the time. Any idiot know that. Please, give me a response that works. FTP.DOMAINNAME.TLD DUH! we know that. :rolleyes: Shared or dedicated needs to use ftp.domain.com to connect. We know that!
     
    #4 sexy_guy, Apr 26, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2003
  5. Stenny Chong

    Stenny Chong Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I comfirm, proftpd work no problem, check with /etc/proftpd.conf, you will find multiply virtualhost with that same IP address, remove all virtualhost with that IP, and it should work.
     
  6. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
    For accounts based on the main shared IP users can login with both domain.com or ftp.domain.com.

    For accounts based on a reseller's shared IP, users can only login with ftp.domain.com, because it's the only subdomain that points (or should point) to the server's main IP. Proftpd will use the wrong password file if you login through another IP address.

    So the first thing you might want to look into is the value of the ftp record in the domains' zones.

    My resellers have no problems with this, all the accounts they create can login correctly and we are using proftpd. It was different with the accounts they had already created when we assigned them their own shared IP. When changing the IP of their existing accounts, WHM also changed the IP of the ftp record to point to the reseller's shared IP, instead of the server's main IP, so FTP stopped working for those accounts. We had to edit those domains' zones manually (and the proftpd.conf file as well as Stenny Chong says above). But for newly created accounts it works OK (as long as they use ftp.domain.com).
     
    #6 Juanra, Apr 26, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2003
  7. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You answers are the ones that are BS. You certainly do not need to us ftp.domain.com in most cases to ftp to a site. I never use it for any of my sites right now. That is the most rediculous statement in this thread, so don't throw rocks at thephantom (who is trying to help) when you live in a glass house yourself.

    What thephantom is trying to tell you is that when you start having accounts share ip's other than the main server ip, proftpd gets a little more picky about how you must connect to them. Normally, domain.com would work fine, but proftpd gets a little picky an ftp.domain.com becomes absolutely necessary. With pureftpd, this issue of sharing other ip's instead of the main server ip is not a problem on pureftpd.

    If you are unhappy wiht cpanel, venting at people on this forum is the wrong outlet. You should vent to the developers or show them you dissatisfaction by shopping somewhere else.
     
Loading...

Share This Page