The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does cpanel need to slim down?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MichaelShanks, Jun 9, 2006.

1. MichaelShanks

MichaelShanks Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

Hello Guys, this is a serious discussion about cpanel, I'm quite quiet here but I have been using cpanel for over 6 years on over 400 servers in that time, I have submitted bugs, helped nick with issues at 5am in the morning and seen the company evolve from its humble beginnings. I was also a moderator on this forum when it was first deployed.

I am seeing a serious problem with cpanel, as an administrator I am constantly having to keep up to date with bug fixes and new features, it seems that a lot of new bugs are being introduced into the distributions and the this is probably due to the number of duplicated features.

do we really need

3 webmail clients (2 with maildir)
    2 mail formats
    2 forum tools
    2 ftp servers
    several log generation utilities.
    support over 20 different linux distributions?
    items listed as depriciated but still present in WHM

it seems cpanel is spread very thing, there are several things that need to be resolved or dropped, I know as an admin we can remove these features from the control panel, but that is not the point, time is needed to keep these things up to date and concentrating on multiple items means a lot more bugs spread over a lot more utilities. The effort for legacy support and features has been valiant, but maybe for the sanity of the user base some sort of uniformity needs to take place.

apache 2.0 support has been in the works for about 3 years
    windows release, 6 years in the making
    more RPM suport for php and apache