The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does cPanel/WHM require manual restart after power cycle?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ameisez, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. ameisez

    ameisez Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I just got my first hand on my own unmanaged WHM/cPanel on CentOS 6.

    It has just been installed. It seems all is well and OK but when I did a power cycle on my server, I can't connect to WHM anymore.

    I can connect via putty but not on WHM. Makes me think if WHM is starting automatically with the OS? I paid my host to install it for me one time fee and apply the license I bought from them.

    Now they said I am on my own. That is why I landed here seeking for help.

    Thanks
     
  2. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Please type the following command:

    # ps auxfwww | grep cpsrvd

    If cpsrvd is running, then cPanel loaded. If it's not running, then you can try to type:

    # service cpanel start

    It may also be related to your firewall. Please see if ports 2087 and 2083 are open (2087 is for WHM and 2083 for cPanel).
     
  3. ameisez

    ameisez Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is what I get.

    cpsrvd (pid 5839) is running...
    entropychat is stopped
    stunnel is stopped
    qrunner is stopped

    How can I check if port is open or not? And it is not, How can I open.

    Sorry for the dumb question. This is my first time having my unmanaged CentOS running WHM. I have long experience managing WHM and cPanel accounts but never from SSH shell.

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Please review the following documentation regarding your system's firewall rules:

    Deactivate default firewall and check for updates

    It's likely the default firewall rules are blocking access to cPanel/WHM. You should install a third-party firewall management utility such as CSF to manage your firewall rules if you are not comfortable doing so.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page