The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does it matter to use same site domain as the server domain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Optrosk, May 3, 2009.

  1. Optrosk

    Optrosk Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have been preparing my VPS server for some time now and have been unsure of the domain I used when I registered my VPS account. My plan was to use the domain for a website. I read somewhere later that someone didn't recommend using the the VPS domain for a website also.

    Do you have any idea if that is the case?

    My VPS domain is like dom.domainname.com and the domain I want to use is the same except for the dom.

    If it matters, It's no problem for me to use another TLD for the website domain, like .org.
     
  2. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If your VPS is DOM.domain.com and your website domain is domain.com or somethingelse.domain.com you should be fine.

    The difficulty that people talk about arises when you attempt to use domain.com as the VPS name and domain.com as the account you are hosting.

    IF you do decide to use DOM.domain.com as your VPS name and you add a Cpanel account to server the domain.com domain, you just want to be sure that an "A" record for DOM.domain.com continues to exist on your nameserver after you add the domain [assuming your nameservers are on the same machine as your VPS).

    When you set up Cpanel with DOM.domain.com as the VPS hostname, it shoudl have added /var/named/DOM.domain.com - which would have an "A" record in it that maps DOM.domain.com to an IP address.

    When you add a new account through Cpanel to server "domain.com", it will add /var/named/domain.com - and after this, you want to make sure that /var/named/domain.com also contains an "A" record mapping DOM.domain.com to an IP address.

    Mike
     
  3. PlatinumServerM

    PlatinumServerM Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  4. Optrosk

    Optrosk Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you both,

    the file

    /var/named/domain.com

    is ok.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For further clarification, while the hostname can be anything you want, cPanel/WHM does require a fully qualified domain name (e.g. something.example.com) be used for a hostname.
     
  6. Optrosk

    Optrosk Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you!
     
Loading...

Share This Page