The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does this mean I need more RAM?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by slmsoft, Oct 7, 2005.

  1. slmsoft

    slmsoft Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does it?

    15:36:55 up 8:38, 2 users, load average: 12.73, 22.48, 31.06
    519 processes: 516 sleeping, 1 running, 1 zombie, 1 stopped
    CPU states: cpu user nice system irq softirq iowait idle
    total 2.7% 15.8% 2.5% 0.0% 0.6% 27.1% 50.9%
    cpu00 6.2% 17.1% 3.7% 0.1% 2.0% 22.9% 47.7%
    cpu01 1.3% 15.6% 2.2% 0.1% 0.3% 64.3% 15.8%
    cpu02 2.0% 16.3% 2.6% 0.0% 0.0% 17.2% 61.6%
    cpu03 1.3% 14.1% 1.6% 0.0% 0.0% 4.3% 78.5%
    Mem: 2073900k av, 2001136k used, 72764k free, 0k shrd, 49184k buff
    1448380k active, 139696k inactive
    Swap: 2048276k av, 134048k used, 1914228k free 443352k cached
     
  2. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    seems like it, what are those 519 processes running on your box ?
     
  3. slmsoft

    slmsoft Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    mostly mysql and httpd,

    this is a dual xeon 3.2 box with 2GB, do you recommend buying another server or buying a 2GB RAM Stick?

    thankS

    it is currently :

    17:30:22 up 10:32, 2 users, load average: 13.46, 10.69, 11.35
    427 processes: 418 sleeping, 9 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: cpu user nice system irq softirq iowait idle
    total 6.1% 9.4% 2.4% 0.0% 0.5% 36.7% 44.6%
    cpu00 5.9% 14.2% 3.0% 0.1% 1.7% 23.8% 51.0%
    cpu01 5.9% 9.9% 2.6% 0.0% 0.3% 80.1% 0.9%
    cpu02 7.0% 7.2% 2.0% 0.0% 0.0% 21.1% 62.4%
    cpu03 5.7% 6.4% 1.7% 0.0% 0.0% 21.7% 64.3%
    Mem: 2073900k av, 2057296k used, 16604k free, 0k shrd, 44928k buff
    1468244k active, 268284k inactive
    Swap: 2048276k av, 121160k used, 1927116k free 526384k cached
     
  4. apogee

    apogee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    buy a new box and add a 2gb stick to the old box.

    how many accounts do you have on this server?
     
  5. slmsoft

    slmsoft Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    500+ web accounts

    including 30+ resellers'
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Personally, I'd recommend buying a second box and moving users over to it from the first to even out the loads. That way you can slowly increase the number of users on each if you wish. I would be wary of just slapping another 2GB in the server since, IMX from what you have posted, it's being used but wouldn't be responsible for those high loads. That looks much more like disk I/O issues and simply overloading the server as a whole.
     
  7. slmsoft

    slmsoft Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    do you think moving mySQL server to second SCSI drive would help this situation, I am also moving some accounts to another server, here is my.cnf :

    Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

    [mysqld]
    datadir=/var/lib/mysql
    socket=/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock
    skip-locking
    skip-innodb
    query_cache_limit=1M
    query_cache_size=32M
    query_cache_type=1
    max_connections=500
    max_user_connections=25
    interactive_timeout=10
    wait_timeout=10
    connect_timeout=10
    thread_cache_size=128
    #thread_cache=256
    key_buffer=16M
    join_buffer=1M
    max_allowed_packet=32M
    table_cache=1024
    record_buffer=1M
    sort_buffer_size=2M
    read_buffer_size=2M
    max_connect_errors=10
    # Try number of CPU's*2 for thread_concurrency
    thread_concurrency=8
    myisam_sort_buffer_size=64M
    #log-bin
    server-id=1

    #tmp_table_size=256M
    #max_heap_table_size=256M
    #max_tmp_tables=256

    [mysql.server]
    user=mysql
    basedir=/var/lib

    [safe_mysqld]
    err-log=/var/log/mysqld.log
    pid-file=/var/lib/mysql/mysql.pid
    #open_files_limit=8192

    [mysqldump]
    quick
    max_allowed_packet=32M

    [mysql]
    no-auto-rehash
    #safe-updates

    [isamchk]
    key_buffer=16M
    sort_buffer=64M
    read_buffer=16M
    write_buffer=16M

    [myisamchk]
    key_buffer=16M
    sort_buffer=64M
    read_buffer=16M
    write_buffer=16M

    [mysqlhotcopy]
    interactive-timeout
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Moving it might well help. IO is definitely a problem, and because of that you could also try increasing the query cache from 32MB to 64MB if it's being used extensively. You can use the following to see how much of the cache is actually being used:

    mysql -e "SHOW STATUS LIKE '%qcache%';"

    If you do increase the size of the cache, be very watchful of the size of the swapfile usage and check that it doesn't start growing.
     
Loading...

Share This Page