The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Does WHM/Cpanel set up e-mail for you?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by chantcd, Nov 3, 2006.

  1. chantcd

    chantcd Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I am the Linux system administrator for a mid-sized company. We are switching from an external webhost to running our own web server.
    This server needs to have POP3 e-mail as well as Apache (MySQL, PHP, OpenSSL, etc.)

    I am having the hardest time getting an e-mail solution set up on this system.

    E-mail needs to be MySQL-based, so users can be added/removed easily, without creating a Linux (system) account for each. Among other reasons, we have more than one domain name. bob@company1.com and bob@company2.com need to be separate accounts.

    I'm trying to set up a system as described here:
    http://www.phparchitecture.com/howto_show.php?id=2

    Setting up Cyrus IMAP, SASL, MySQL, Postfix, etc. to work together seems to be a herculean chore. Moreover, there are few tutorials out there, and no books available (it seems).

    Would installing WHM/Cpanel solve this problem? I know that you have to have a fresh install, and that they can install it for you, etc. That might be a problem for us, since I live hundreds of miles from the server, and I was just on-site installing the LAMP portion. The webserver portion I am doing fine with; the e-mail portion is hard.

    But does WHM magically give you an e-mail setup? (Including a POP3 server so users can log in and download their mail?) I am also wondering: What version of Apache, MySQL, PHP, PHPMyAdmin, etc. does WHM provide, if any?

    If WHM would make things easier setup-wise, it would be worth the cost. But if it's only for maintenance once you're set up, we don't really need that.

    Insofar as I am NOT a Linux guru now, I'd like to become one. I am a programmer and do like to have full control over things. I miss the DOS days. I DO like the command line. So is WHM/Cpanel for me?

    Thanks,

    Matthew
     
  2. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it does and I think it would work well for what you are looking for. When you install cPanel all the services are configured for you. There will be a few small things you need to change from within the control panel to get everything running perfectly, but yes its very simple.

    Versions offered:

    Apache 1.3.37 (Apache 2 in Dev)
    MySQL 4.1.21 / MySQL5
    PHP 4.4.4 / PHP 5

    cPanel does alot of the hard work for you, so you should have no problems managing the server once its installed and running. I started using cPanel boxes just under 2 years again, and then I knew nothing about it.
     
  3. chantcd

    chantcd Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What about e-mail (sending as well as POP3)?

    Does it set it all up so I can set up e-mail accounts (via cPanel) and someone can log in with Outlook and download their e-mail?

    Matthew
     
  4. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Urgent help me immediately

    how to setup several IMAP and POP3 accounts for domainname.com. ?

    Is there any options available in cpanel/whm.

    i found no options like create or remove email accounts in Email option in cpane?

    how to do? pls help.....

    thanks in advance
     
  5. mtylerb

    mtylerb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warburg, AB, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's under Email Accounts in cPanel. I'm using x3 theme and it's in the Mail "tab". Looks like (see attachment):
     
  6. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yah, but under email there is option like Mail Manager Main Menu

    for adding,removing email accounts
     
  7. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi, I have attached the screen schot which i get when i click mail->emailaccounts
    pls help me immediately
     

    Attached Files:

  8. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    In that i want to create email account for particular domain... which is not listed/found in the drop down box... how could i get it
     
  9. mtylerb

    mtylerb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warburg, AB, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You cannot add email for *any* domain. It must be one of the domains you have registered. If you haven't setup that domain, you will not be able to create an email address for it.
     
  10. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have to create IMAP, POP3 accounts for a domain ... what should i do? i have set up the domains using cpanel/whm... it is pinging outside to well
     
  11. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I found the domain registered thru godaddy.com and it is all working fine... can u help me pls... It ll be very useful for me.... Thanks in advance .. my friend
     
  12. mtylerb

    mtylerb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warburg, AB, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have access to WHM, you need to first create an account using that domain, or, click Addon Domains under Domains section of cPanel. You can add the domain to that account that way, then go back to Email to add an email account from there.
     
  13. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I create add on domain , i get the following in cpanel


    Sorry, you are not allowed to add any more than (0) addon domains! The domain below was not setup!

    As i new to this... can u help me ... without minding my illiteracy towards it.... pls
     
  14. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having access to WHM , cPanel... also...
     
  15. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When i login to WHM and click create a new account then i get the following error

    Account Creation Status: failed (Sorry, a DNS entry for autoglassdelivered.com already exists, please delete it first (from all servers in the dns cluster) )

    Sorry, a DNS entry for autoglassdelivered.com already exists, please delete it first (from all servers in the dns cluster)


    Please help me
     
  16. mtylerb

    mtylerb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Warburg, AB, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You will need to allow an account to add domains. Go to Modify an Account under the Account Functions section of WHM. Click the appropriate account and click Modify. Once inside there, change the value under Max Addon Domains to either a number or "unlimited" (without the quotes). That will allow you to add domains to that specific account.
     
  17. nayagi

    nayagi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Urgent Help pls... regarding addpop script

    I have created a email account using /scripts/addpop.

    What actually this script ll do? When I send mail within locally(inside putty form root@server.domain.com the mail is delivered.

    But When I send from outlook (outside) then i get a bounce back mail delivery failure error.

    What is the problem? If the account is not visible outside... What should I do to make it visble outside?

    Help me in this regard.... pls
     
Loading...

Share This Page