The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Doing the buildapache.sea update crashes my server

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by orca, Sep 26, 2002.

  1. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hi there,

    if I do an update using buildapache.sea my server always crashes at the following line:

    `cat CCTYPE` -c `cat CFLAGS` imap4r1.c

    Then a technician needs to go to the NOC rebooting the server manually. What can cause this?

    Orca
     
  2. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:2b9f042cca][i:2b9f042cca]Originally posted by orca[/i:2b9f042cca]

    Hi there,

    if I do an update using buildapache.sea my server always crashes at the following line:

    `cat CCTYPE` -c `cat CFLAGS` imap4r1.c

    Then a technician needs to go to the NOC rebooting the server manually. What can cause this?

    Orca
    [/quote:2b9f042cca]
    Bad hardware or having less then 64 megs of ram in the machine.
     
  3. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Switzerland
    A P4 2,0 Ghz with 512 MB RAM?
     
  4. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:c48e66d2bf][i:c48e66d2bf]Originally posted by orca[/i:c48e66d2bf]

    A P4 2,0 Ghz with 512 MB RAM?[/quote:c48e66d2bf]

    Test your ram with memtest86
     
  5. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Where do I get it? Or where is it? I only see command not found.
     
  6. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    --& http://www.memtest86.com
     
  7. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Well, you need to do it with a boot disk. However, the server's a bit far away for me to test it there.
    Anyway, it seems that it did partially update. I did a CPanel update to Release 137 and now apache fails to restart giving an error that it cant' includ libphp4.so with libcrypt4.so or so. Don't remember the line anymore. The server's down again since I tried installing it again...The thing is, that after some time, the server works again.
     
  8. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Well, the server ran again and I checked whether I'm able to restart apache which was successful. However, shortly afterwards, the server crashed again. No shell access anymore, nothing. No idea where the problem is. Might be the incomplete install...
     

Share This Page