The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domain-Addon Domain problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by benjacob, Sep 7, 2011.

1. benjacob

benjacob Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm new to Cpanel. For two years I've been using Dreamhost and still do (and they have their own panel software). Recently, I signed up with Compitent Hosting and as part of the signup I had to buy a domain which I did for the insurance niche. Five days ago I bought a new domain from Comp. Hosting for a fat-loss niche. To my suprise and disappointment, I was told by support that I can activate and use the new (fat-loss) domain only as an add-on domain under the original insurance domain. At Dreamhost, I have several domains and they are all separate, standalone domains, and I thought the same system would work universally. My questions are:

1. Can I switch the two domains I have in Cpanel to make the fat-loss domain be the top domain, and the insurance domain become an add-on or sub-domain. The reason I want to do this is because I intend to let the insurance domain expire, but will definitely keep the fat-loss one.

2. Since any domain I buy with a Cpanel hosting company must be installed as an add-on domain, doesn't that make paying for new domains a waste of money -- I mean I could've created the fat-loss add-on for free, right?

3. If I continue with the current setup (insurance top domain - fat loss addon), and then let the top insurance domain expire, won't that mess up (delete) the fat-loss add on and all the word press pages I intend to create under it?

TIA for your responses. Also can you please recommend some comprehensive online tutorials on Cpanel?

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter: