Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domain Alias For Add On Domain

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by johnzoro, Oct 26, 2017.

  1. johnzoro

    johnzoro Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have a domain with one registrar and hosting with another company.

    I have multi domain hosting and I am hosting one domain

    say exampledomain.org.uk

    i have another domain, exampledomain.net and i want exampledomain.net to be an alias of .org.uk so if you go to .net it takes you to .org.uk but the links look like .net

    I have created an alias in the domains section and the .net has been added but it doesn't seem to work.

    It looks like the document root is wrong, is there a way to change this as I can't work it out lol
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,484
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Did you update the name servers for exampledomain.net at it's domain registrar to the ones associated with the cPanel server?

    Thank you.
     
  3. johnzoro

    johnzoro Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    the nameservers for .net are pointing to domain registrar

    but ip address for a record is pointing to web host
     
  4. johnzoro

    johnzoro Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    what my problem is, is that the main primary domain it's stored in /public_html/

    the add on domain the files are stored in /public_html/addondomain.org.uk

    so when i add an alias i want to change the directory to the one the add on domain uses?
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    41,484
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's only possible to do this through Web Host Manager:

    "WHM Home » DNS Functions » Park a Domain"

    You can't add an alias (parked domain) on top of an addon domain name through cPanel.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page