The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domain alias

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by michaelrod77, Oct 6, 2008.

  1. michaelrod77

    michaelrod77 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have searched up and down this forum and found a several posts about domain aliases, but not a single one that clearly describes how to create a working domain alias, so I'm looking for some help here.

    I need this: I have an existing domain in CPanel, mydomain.com. When someone visits my other domain, myotherdomain.com, I need them to still be able to see that domain in their address bar (so they always believe they are at myotherdomain.com) but to have the content showing from the first domain, mydomain.com.

    I have experience in HSphere, and although there were alot of problems with that software, they at least made creating a domain alias very easy. So far, creating a real working domain alias doesn't seem possible.

    Any help is greatly appreciated!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Domain Aliases are known as Parked Domains in cPanel/WHM. To park a domain, simply click on "Parked Domains" in the cPanel interface.
     
  3. michaelrod77

    michaelrod77 Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks, David!!! I guess it was just the phrase "Parked domain" that threw me off, since I've been calling it domain alias for years.

    I did it and the domain alias/parked domain worked perfectly.

    Final question, but more complicated: This domain alias needs it's own separate SSL. For instance, both of these should point to the same site:

    https://www.mydomain.com/ (where the content resides)
    https://www.myotherdomain.com/ (the parked domain)

    Is this possible in CPanel?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As separate SSL certificates require unique IP addresses and there currently is no native way apply 2 IP addresses to a single account, then strictly speaking, such would not be possible in a cPanel/WHM environment natively.

    However, I wouldn't be surprised if others have created workarounds, for example, solutions involving symlinking the directories one account to another.
     
    #4 cPanelDavidG, Oct 6, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2008
  5. mazhar_shaikh

    mazhar_shaikh Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You can modify the apache config file to have two separate VirtualHost entry with different IP address for mydomain.com and myotherdomain.com pointing their DocumentRoot to same directory.
    And then install separate SSL on each domain.
    Also set A record for the domain in zone files accordingly.

    This changes will need root ssh access.

    Mohammad Mazhar.
     
Loading...

Share This Page