The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

domain default / index page problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Daddy, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. Daddy

    Daddy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have procured a domain and web space. they provided me this link

    www.aaaaaaaa.com/cpanel

    When I got inside I found the following folders

    / (Current Folder)
    Create New Folder
    Upload file(s)
    .htpasswds
    .neomail
    .trash
    mail
    public_ftp
    public_html
    tmp
    www


    I opened file manage and copied my web site in root directory with index.htm, index.html, default.htm and main.htm because i was not aware which main file my domain will pick. (I was so intelligent) but oh my God my domain was not picking those files.

    Please let me know which file name I have to copy in which folder so that when I access my domain name, I can see my web page...

    Dear Friends I tried to copy all those (mentioned above) files in public_html folder as well but again failed to achive requiste result.

    Kindly help me out :mad:

     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, you should indeed place all your web files within your /public_html sub directory. As to why it isn't working if they are in there, you should really ask your web hosting company - that's what you pay them for ;)
     
  3. Daddy

    Daddy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just talked to them on telephone and they said, "I should copy all files in www folder"? Can I upload files through file manager or I have to use FTP or anyother software?

    What is the purpose of providing File manager? what is the difference b/w file manage and ftp?

    I have installed FTP (Bullet Proof)
    what is the procedure to connect thourght the same site www.aaaaaa.com/cpanel through ftp

    please guide me
     
  4. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thread moved to appropriate area.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Pesonally I'd use FTP if I were you. In your FTP client you should be able to configure it with:

    Server: your domain name
    Account: your cPanel account name that you login with
    Password: the password you use when you login to cPanel

    When your FTP client connects, make sure you switch into your www directory before uploading your files.
     
  6. mickengland

    mickengland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Easy peasy

    Click on your index.html file, select change permissions from 644 to 755, now you will see your page.
     
  7. Daddy

    Daddy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks - I need more help

    I used FTP and able to transfer files in public html... Thanks indeed for your kind help and cooperation. :)

    I am layman in making web site attractive. TCS incorporated with me in procuring domain. Obviously, if I will ask them to build my site then they will charge fee from me which I don't have.

    Can any one recommend few attractive HTML sites with coding. :confused:
     
  8. mickengland

    mickengland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here is one thats free http://www.chami.com/html-kit/
     
  9. Daddy

    Daddy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks,

    Sir, I want to set my live web cam at my own site. What is the option available under CPanel. Is this possible? How does Cpanel facilitate us?

    I took this applet from a friend and put my ip address at appropriate place but it did not work.

    Please guide me, how can I set web cam at my site?




    Kind regards
     
Loading...

Share This Page