Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

domain error_log

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mv_, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. mv_

    mv_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I'm cpanel newbie and I'm confused a lot by the way it store error_log files. Look at this

    /home2/user1/public_html/hockey/cs/error_log
    /home2/user1/public_html/hockey/en/error_log
    /home2/user1/public_html/hockey/sk/error_log
    /home2/user1/public_html/hockey/de/error_log
    /home2/user1/public_html/hockey/ro/error_log
    /home2/user1/public_html/hockey/hr/error_log
    /home2/user1/public_html/hockey/pl/error_log
    /home2/user1/public_html/hockey/dk/error_log
    /home2/user1/public_html/hockey/it/error_log
    /home2/user1/public_html/ppm/sk/error_log

    the web root is .../public_html/
    hockey and ppm are directories, I do not know why there are so many errorlogs, one in each directory.
    How can I make one error_log for the domain? :-(

    Thank you.
     
  2. mv_

    mv_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    So there is no way how do I get error_log for certain domain via shell? I need to process it further. Web interface is no use for me.

    :-(
     
  3. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Its not cpanel related error log. You can download the raw access logs from the cpanel main page.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    193
    What you just listed is the PHP error_logs generated when you have script errors.

    It is NOT the Apache error_log which is stored in /etc/httpd/logs
     
  5. mv_

    mv_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I think I'm getting the grasp. Is there any way to centralize these errorlogs for the whole domain into one error_log ?
     
  6. dwh2

    dwh2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    More importantly, why can't the error_log go below the webroot? It's a security hole. I never had this before...maybe it's because I installed suphp and modsecurity?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice