The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Domain is already registered

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by moen, Sep 15, 2015.

  1. moen

    moen Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bron
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have tried several free hostings (~ten) with CPanel and every time I didn't get past this error in account creation (pretty weird naming, account = domain).

    I have DNS hosted by CloudFlare and will NOT switch. Is this the reason - CPanel is restricted to have DNS hosted by the hosting?

    To be absolutely clear, I am not registering new domain.

    Is this a bug or limitation in CPanel, or is it just incorrectly (on most free hostings) configured?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Do you have access to WHM?
     
  3. moen

    moen Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bron
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I don't believe so (looking at address bar I can only access switcher [where I can't create an account], invoices, domains manager, news, knowledge base, help, referrals and profile subpages; no other admin tools).
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm sorry, but none of those items sounds like cPanel interface. Could you attach a screenshot (hiding personal details of course) to a post here? You mention creating an account, do you mean addon domain?

    Assuming you're on more of the same, free hosting, you would surely be limited as to what you can and can't do.

    In the end this question sounds like something for your Hosting Provider to properly answer.
     
  5. moen

    moen Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bron
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Oh, I tried several free hostings and it was always referred to as cPanel. I just assumed that it actually is the cPanel o_O (might be some account manager before it).

    i.imgur.com/QmtN8kB.png
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yep, this is a question only your Hosting Provider can help you with. That appears to be a modified version of cPanel that hasn't been updated in some time.
     
  7. moen

    moen Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bron
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well, I just wanted to know if this is cPanel standard behaviour, because it happened to me on almost every free hosting - seems a bit weird that almost everybody has it misconfigured:confused:.

    Anyway, thank you for answering:). I won't probably get a better answer since the versions of cPanel on freehostings are always ancient.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    No, that's not a standard cPanel interface for adding domain names. You may want to consider purchasing a paid hosting plan if the various free hosting providers you have used are unreliable.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page